We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Navy Lodge/Trumbo Point Condos/Gateway Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navy Lodge Key West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navy Lodge Key West
Save
You added Navy Lodge Key West to your Saves list
Bldg 4114 Arthur Sawyer Rd, Key West Naval Air Station - Sigbee Park, Key West, FL 33040-5000   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“Key West Navy Lodge/Trumbo Point Condos/Gateway Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is for Military/DOD only with base access.
We stayed at two locations over the New Years break. First was
Navy Lodge at Sigsbee point. The lodge does not have many rooms, kind of small. Call ahead for sure. About 98 a night, compared to 800 in town over New Years, no joke!
The Navy Lodge has many pros: the exchange and commissary are right there. MWR is just across the way, the boat slips and rentals are well within walking distance, including the Sunset lounge ( never went there but it looked nice right next to water). The boat house rents out 21 foot fishing boats, not pontoons or family style cruisers, however you could you do it in these boats. They are cheap and available during non busy periods. We rented kayaks and snorkel gear on base, very helpful and friendly enlisted guys there. The only con is you will have to drive into the main area of Key West such as Mallory Square and such. Other than that, I enjoyed the lodge. FYI, the staff leaves at 8pm, you have to use the side entrance to get in and out. I do recommend the lodge without any reservation!

Trumbo Condo: These were great. Right inside the gate and about a 20 minute walk to the main area of Key West (just an estimate, I never walked it). Trumbo point is mostly the Gateway Inn, the condos, and a small mini mart that is open till about 7 pm. The location is nice, but there isn’t much else on this base called Trumbo point.
Driving to Duval street. Most parking is about $4 an hour. I’m from Chicago so that’s not bad. However, I parked inside of Truman Annex (Navy) and it was free.
Lodging overview: If you can get the condos, go for it. If you can’t, not a big deal. I liked the Navy Lodge just as much, and your not going here to sleep or stay in the room. We liked the condo because we had 7 people in our party with us. All of the staff was just fine everywhere we went. If you have a RV or camper, this is heaven for you. They are all over the Navy bases down there.

Commissary and NEX. The main ones are located at Sigsbee, which is about a 5 minute drive from Trumbo point.
Truman annex also has a MWR but was closed for the New Years weekend.
One major point: NAS Boca Chica is about 8 miles out from Key West. If you stay at the Navy INN, you could wind up out here. I think the Navy INN was 70 a night, the condo was 90 a night with a ton of room to move around.
Side notes. I stayed at Trumbo Point, if you take Bertha St. right across the island, you will wind up at Smathers Beach, just off of South Roosevelt BLVD. Is less than a 5 minute drive, and is a public beach. The was plenty of parking and we didn’t have to fight any crowds to find an open beach spot. The sand was real smooth and easy to walk on. We went to Naval Station Truman annex which also has beach but is was way too rocky, I do not recommend going there to swim. Other wise its ok. Smathers beach is also a good place to bring your kayak(from the base), sit in the water and watch the sunset. That’s what my three kids did, about 30 yards out from shore (kids are 14, 11,10).
My recommendations are:
Do Mallory Square for the sunset one night, then all the other nights at Smathers beach. Rent kayaks from one of the bases for the day, 18 dollars I think and you can take them in your car to another location (like we did). Bikes are 18 dollars a day at MWR too. Check out all MWR locations, Boca Chica, Truman annex, and Trumbo point (at the condos). They basically rent the same items, bikes and scuba gear.
Maps. Once you get in town, grab a map. They are free and everywhere. Once you come in town there is a CVS, Walgreens, Food Lion, Winn Dixie, and Public. Dominos Pizza has 5 dollar specials, we got three and ate and ran.
We stayed four nights and 5 days, that was just about enough. We had jet skis, parasailed, and kayaked. We all had a great time. For us, water stuff during the day, Duval Street, Mallory Square, and nightlife at night.
If you thought this was helpful, give me a thumbs up for an approval in the rating section.
Alternate lodging: About 2 and half hours out, the Air Force has homestead Air Force Base. 39 a night. This maybe useful for those who can’t make it in or have to leave early. Check it out at dodlodging.net. Its clean and safe.

Room Tip: There were no bad rooms at this price, if your picky then stay home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and are very pleased with the value of staying here. The room rate of $99 is at least half of what other basic hotels charge. The room is clean, and spacious with a mini kitchen included. They have free continental breakfast bag each morning with a Danish, yogurt, and bottle of water.
We had a light dinner and drinks at Sunset Grill at the marina. They had live music and it was a great time.
We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Navy have a wide variety of housing in Key West, including the lodge, Condos, trailers, etc. There were also Marinas, cafes, bars, RV and camping sites on the various bases, including Key West Naval Air Station - Sigbee Park, Trumbo, Boca Chica, etc. In September 2011, we paid $78 per night and there were no taxes.

This was a typical Navy Lodge, good price, well maintained facility and really friendly staff. A paper and continental bagged breakfast was provided each morning at the front desk. Our room had 2 queen beds, table, kitchen, DVD player (DVD rental at Redbox at Navy Exchange. The Front desk lets you borrow beach chairs, cooler, and towels.
The Navy Exchange and Commissary are right across the street, allowing much more savings on food and drink. Key West restaurants are not inexpensive.The Sunset Lounge located 5min (walking) behind the Lodge is an appealing tropical bar overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. It has excellent food and drinks, at prices less than prevailing costs in Key West restaurants. By the Lounge is a small marina where you can rent a power boat, canoe, or kayak. The Navy MWR office is across the street from the Lodge and you can fine reduced price tickets to attractions and resources, e.g., bicycle rentals, sunset sailing. They will give you a list of all the popular attractions.

The Navy Lodge rooms have small kitchen with dishes, pots, pans, toaster, fridge, microwave, range, utensils, etc. The Lodge supplies a continental breakfast in a bag, every day. There are coffee makers in the rooms and hot coffee in the lobby. They also provide laundry (laundry soap in the Exchange), Internet (free in the lobby, not free (per day or $15 per week) in the room unless you get room #105, it goes through the wall)

The Navy Lodge is within a quick drive (15 minutes) to everywhere in Key West. Parking can be a problem in the downtown tourist areas and there is primarily pay parking in most areas of interest, which is not cheap. However, you can park for free in the Truman Annex and walk to many locations. Ask MWR to show you where to park. You can also park in some restaurant parking lots for free if you eat in the restaurant, e.g., restaurant parking near the Historic Key West Seaport on Front Street.

If you are driving in on Highway 1, it is 3.5 hours on the Turnpike (depending on traffic) from the Miami Airport. We drove from South Beach on 1 and it took 6hours because of all the stop lights on Hwy 1, south of South Beach.

On your way, look out for the Boca Chica Naval Station at mile marker 8. As you come into Key West, turn right on Roosevelt, drive past iHop and at the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort (Kennedy and 13th Street), turn right. You will find the gate and will have to show Military ID and rental car agreement (if you are driving a rental). Drive slow across the channel until you find a white directional sign at a fork in the road. Turn right, and drive past the gas pumps (on the right), MWR (left) and Navy Commissary and Exchange (right). Behind the tennis courts (on the left you) will find the Navy Lodge.

See some photos at: http://www.tripadvisor.com/LocationPhotos-g34345-d1648876-Navy_Lodge_Key_West-Key_West_Florida_Keys_Florida.html#23552707

Hope you have as great a time as we did!

Room Tip: Ask for room #105 if you want free Internet service. The room is next to the lobby and the Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

For the military this is one not to miss. Great rooms and great rates. Suggest you call to make reservations

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights in May 2011. This lodge is located on Sigsbee road. It's not the Hilton but use the $$ you save to enjoy the tourist stuff. Our room had 1 x queen, fold out couch, kitchen, dvd player...DVD rental at Redbox at Exchange. Front desk lets you borrow beach chairs, cooler, and towels. Walking distance to Exchange\Commisary, Gym, marina. It's not walking distance to downtown. When we went to town, paid $4 for parking for the day, then rented bikes and putted around. Best beach is at Fort Zachary, $7 for 2 people, lots of shade and nice location to swim. The rental townhouses at Trumbo NAS looked nice for a large family and it's closer to town but not on the water. Key West is a nice destination for a few days and the Navy Lodge fit the bill.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This was a typical Navy Lodge, good price, well maintained facility and really friendly staff. Good location for downtown Key West and all the touristy areas, plus shops restaurants etc. A take-out breakfast was provided each morning. One word about the Navy Lodge website - it shows a pool at this Lodge which isn't quite correct. The pool is on another Navy facility a few miles away. The other thing to be aware of is the very low speed limit (15mph) around the Lodge. The police will get you if you transgress speed limits and 'no cell phone use' rule whilst driving on base.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sebring florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

we spent 3 nights at the gateway lodge in key west and enjoyed every minute. we decided to take in the sights by walking from the lodge which turned out to be great and the help from the staff was great in directing us to various places. we are looking forward to returning this spring for more fun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navy Lodge Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navy Lodge Key West

Address: Bldg 4114 Arthur Sawyer Rd, Key West Naval Air Station - Sigbee Park, Key West, FL 33040-5000
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROVIDING OUTSTANDING HOSPITALITY TO THOSE WHO PROUDLY SERVE OUR COUNTRYThe Navy Lodge is your number one choice for outstanding guests services specializing in meeting the needs of the PCS military family, TAD and leisure traveler. Please note: International Military are Welcome, but must be pre-approved through base security. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navy Lodge Key West Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navy Lodge Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.