We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path big servings ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
1100 Packer Street, Key West, FL 33040-3263
305-295-7970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 359 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path big servings ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stopped in after a local referral. Small place but cute. Black beam soup was delicious. Was tempted to try the lobster Mac and cheese but heard dinner was plentiful servings. Ordered the short ribs and they were to die for. Tender and flavorful! Served w a side of Mac and cheese w fresh parm shavings, asparagus (somewhat drenched in soy sauce but still tasty if you like that taste), and a broccoli cake. Plenty of food! My boyfriend had the filet and it ended being charred and overcooked. The owner felt bad about that and forgetting the side of fries he comped it. So nice and not even necessary! Will come back to try the fresh catch of the day...hog fish! Will come again and you should try too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    691
    155
    72
    21
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food with Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

One of the best restaurants in the keys. Not only is the food out of this world, Scott and Fred make you feel at home at this quaint off Duval restaurant. Grab a glass of wine and get ready for heaven!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Recommended by the front desk of our hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality, freshness and food preparation along with a friendly staff.
Wanting to try their heralded lobster mac n cheese, we almost left when it was not on the menu. Our waiter, however said it was available. My wife ordered it as an appetizer and it was not only wonderful but a generous portion allowing me to sample along with my grilled shrimp appetizer. Because we had a late lunch that day we decided to split the lobster thermador entrée, a wise choice. The perfectly prepared lobster would rival that at any restaurant. Lobster pieces with some bread crumbs were in a heavenly sauce. Roasted corn, thick and flavorful mashed potatoes and fresh vegetables somehow all fit on this large plate. For beers, they offered Banks from Barbados, something rare at restaurants. We obviously had no room for dessert.
It is in a residential neighborhood 6 blocks off Duval so you will have to search for this small restaurant. By the way I recommended the Flaming Buoy to two couples at our hotel and they raved about it the next day after dining on the lobster mac n cheese and surf and turf.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing! Best food on the island (at least in my 4 days there)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was a quiet night in the restaurant, only two other tables. Our server was amazing, the owner sat down and chatted with us. They created a unique dish based on the fact that we could not decide between a few of them.

We were just after the busy season, I can see how a reservation would be necessary during busy times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a great dinner at the Flaming Buoy while visiting Key West. Both the service and food were excellent. It's also away from the crowds on Duval St. If you're visiting Key West, I'd recommend trying it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.