We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.

The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.
1100 Packer Street, Key West, FL 33040-3263
305-295-7970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 360 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Best food we had in Key West...MUST try the mac and cheese with Lobster....service was good as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    706
    158
    73
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A matter of taste, but not for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Expensive and not very flavorful food. Nice atmosphere. Staff chatty and average service.

Had the trio appetizer - lobster mac and cheese (pasta was overcooked), shrimp, and ceviche (much watermelon but where's the tuna?)

Entrees had the lobster thermidor and mahi mahi. Thermidor had too much breading and couldn't get the lobster taste. Mahi mahi was dry and bland.

Had two glasses of wine.

This was our most expensive meal in Key West - just over $100 for two. Won't be going back. Not sure of the very positive Tripadvisor reviews for this restaurant - so we only can put it to that it's a matter of taste - unfortunately, we enjoy good food and our meal was not for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"MMMMM" after every bite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

First trip to Key West and was quickly disenchanted with the tourist trap that is Duvall St. A little research led us to the Flaming Bouy which is off the beaten path, quaint and relaxing. Our server Alberto was fantastic and took outstanding care of us even while dealing with a lets say difficult woman at the table next to us. My wife and I had the fresh and I emphasize fresh Mahi Mahi and the Lobster Thermador both of which were perfectly cooked and a full if wonderful flavors. The food was plentiful and every item on the plate was exceptional down to the spinach and jalapeño cornbread. We finished the evening with the spicy chocolate quesadilla which was a first and amazing! The icing on the cake was a "Bodum" full of the decaf we ordered... Excellent coffee! Give them a try, you won't regret it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lobster Mac & Cheese was awesome. Staff was very friendly and made great recommendations. Would consider going back on our next trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt lake
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in KW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Trio appetizer - was great start
Service was excellent
Ambience was very nice
Food cooked perfectly
Loved the lobster thermador

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flaming Buoy Filet Co. also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Flaming Buoy Filet Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flaming Buoy Filet Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.