We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging Wreck Dive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Attractions in Key West
Type: Reefs
Attraction Details
Bradenton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Challenging Wreck Dive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This dive is not for the weak of heart or the inexperienced diver.
However if you are adventuresome, this is the dive for you. Most of the divers were guys, and several were techies. The current was strong, but there was a guide line down to the wreck, and once you were at depth it was spectacular!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    27
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my first wreck dive, so I don't have much to compare it to, but what an experience. It seemed like an easy dive with just a little current. I had a guide (Southpoint Divers) wich was a good choice. The guide can take you to the highlights without waisting any of your precious dive time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dive, with Southpoint Divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was one of he best dives I've been on, with regards to wreck diving. The visibility was great and no currents. I was able to great some great pictures of the wreck, considering we only went approximately 100 ft. I would definitely dive it again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wreck diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Reef not mature as sank in 2009. Strong currents on the day I dove. Be ready for a workout. I recommend Captain's Corner dive company.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A must dive adventure. Reminds you of the beginning scenes in Titanic! I recommend taking a guide the first time. There is to much to see and it is a deep dive so you have limited time. I would schedule a "double vandy" so you get the most out of the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.