We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Reefs
Attraction Details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A must dive adventure. Reminds you of the beginning scenes in Titanic! I recommend taking a guide the first time. There is to much to see and it is a deep dive so you have limited time. I would schedule a "double vandy" so you get the most out of the trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    26
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vandy is worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fantastic dive! Made it to mid-ship and even saw a dive buddy spear a lion fish! The water was clear and little current. Lots of Swim thru holes and plenty of fish! Swam with some really large barracuda on my way back to the boat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg twice with Nitrox. We made both satellite dishes but only saw the stern half of the ship. Tons of marine life and more fish than we expected. We will be back .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MUST DIVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Did this dive with a group but the wreck was awesome. Great viz, no current the day we dove it, can be visited by all skill levels. Awesome spearfishing on the wreck too with plenty of fish to be had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A tough dive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg in May. The current was strong on the day of my dive and it was tough getting. I dove with South Point Divers and hired a guide as I anticipated that it could be a challenging dive. The guide was very helpful and took me and two others around a small portion of the ship. You were limited to 17 minutes on the ship with air. It will take multiple dives to see it, but it is one dive that most divers will want to experience at least once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vandenberg Wreck to your Saves list