We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vandy is worth the Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Reefs, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sherwood, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vandy is worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fantastic dive! Made it to mid-ship and even saw a dive buddy spear a lion fish! The water was clear and little current. Lots of Swim thru holes and plenty of fish! Swam with some really large barracuda on my way back to the boat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    29
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg twice with Nitrox. We made both satellite dishes but only saw the stern half of the ship. Tons of marine life and more fish than we expected. We will be back .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MUST DIVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Did this dive with a group but the wreck was awesome. Great viz, no current the day we dove it, can be visited by all skill levels. Awesome spearfishing on the wreck too with plenty of fish to be had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A tough dive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg in May. The current was strong on the day of my dive and it was tough getting. I dove with South Point Divers and hired a guide as I anticipated that it could be a challenging dive. The guide was very helpful and took me and two others around a small portion of the ship. You were limited to 17 minutes on the ship with air. It will take multiple dives to see it, but it is one dive that most divers will want to experience at least once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful wreck must see. By far the highlight of my trip. The big radar dish is cool. Lots of swim throughs. The only down fall is your bottom time is only 20min on air give or take depending on depth and exertion not much more on diving. Definitely will be diving again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.