We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
305-395-0880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg twice with Nitrox. We made both satellite dishes but only saw the stern half of the ship. Tons of marine life and more fish than we expected. We will be back .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    40
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MUST DIVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Did this dive with a group but the wreck was awesome. Great viz, no current the day we dove it, can be visited by all skill levels. Awesome spearfishing on the wreck too with plenty of fish to be had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A tough dive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg in May. The current was strong on the day of my dive and it was tough getting. I dove with South Point Divers and hired a guide as I anticipated that it could be a challenging dive. The guide was very helpful and took me and two others around a small portion of the ship. You were limited to 17 minutes on the ship with air. It will take multiple dives to see it, but it is one dive that most divers will want to experience at least once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful wreck must see. By far the highlight of my trip. The big radar dish is cool. Lots of swim throughs. The only down fall is your bottom time is only 20min on air give or take depending on depth and exertion not much more on diving. Definitely will be diving again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dive, average operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great wreck dive, easy with manageable current, got some great photos and video. Ask the dive operator about limited bottom time, our dive was 35 minutes. Not long enough

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.