We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tough dive but worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Attractions in Key West
Type: Reefs
Attraction Details
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A tough dive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Dove on the Vandenberg in May. The current was strong on the day of my dive and it was tough getting. I dove with South Point Divers and hired a guide as I anticipated that it could be a challenging dive. The guide was very helpful and took me and two others around a small portion of the ship. You were limited to 17 minutes on the ship with air. It will take multiple dives to see it, but it is one dive that most divers will want to experience at least once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    29
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful wreck must see. By far the highlight of my trip. The big radar dish is cool. Lots of swim throughs. The only down fall is your bottom time is only 20min on air give or take depending on depth and exertion not much more on diving. Definitely will be diving again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great dive, average operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great wreck dive, easy with manageable current, got some great photos and video. Ask the dive operator about limited bottom time, our dive was 35 minutes. Not long enough

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A unique Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This wreck is a wonderful addition to the Keys diving scene. It is not to be missed!

Use one of the many quality local dive shops to visit this unique piece of history.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, FL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great dive but only 4 years of growth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Was really impressed by the water clarity and clam seas. fantastic structure. Lots of large swim-thrus. It is a very young wreck and not much large sea life or growth on it yet. I can't wait to see it again in a few years. Do a double dip if you can. It is big.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.