We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wreck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vandenberg Wreck

Vandenberg Wreck
Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 Attractions in Key West
Type: Reefs
Attraction Details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Wreck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a Must See Dive for Advanced divers. Great swimthroughs plenty to see and explore. Current sometimes a bit strong.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    27
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Scuba dive Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Every year in Dec I travel to Key West Fl to take is some exciting and relaxing diving. Southpoint Divers is the only place I book all of my dives. The crew with Tropical Mike as captain, are always accommodating with early departures and tie ups on the Vandenburg. Their desent lines make getting to the Vandy easy, even if the seas are bumpy. Their boat is alway clean and has plenty of room. Crew is very professional . Lots of smiles and help if needed. Safety is always priority . Great dives. If one site doesn't look good, no problem, they will find another. The Vandenburg dive is a jungle gym of adventure. Dive through the bridge and radar dishes. Easy dive . A guide might get you through more of the dive with your bottom time limits.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very cool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked a trip with Southpoint Divers to explore the Vandenberg. If you dive, your trip wont be complete without diving this amazing wreck. It will be my first stop on my next visit to Key West!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great wreck dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you like wrecks (diving) then you have to experience this one, there was a slight current on the first dive, as we descended the first thing to appear was the radar dish/antenna roughly in the centre of the wreck, we dove against the current to the stern at deck level approx 90', our bottom time was 17 mins so we had plenty of time to explore, gradually working up the superstructure to the upper level and then drifted back to antenna, there are numerous places to soft penetrate, you can always see the exit before you enter. The viz was probably 20' and the current around 1 to 2 knots. The second dive there was a stronger current, we had worked out a return route through superstructure, so we swam with the 3 to 4 knot current to the bow, under the bridge wings past the anchor windlass to the bow, it was very eerie looking over the bow into the gloom, plenty of fish, including some beefy barricuda, we entered the CO2 room on the stb side just below the bridge and swam through a couple of rooms to the exit just in fromt of the fwd hatch, we then swam along the deck slightly in the lee back to the antenna, both dive were approx 26 mins in length with no Deco time. The first time we heard about this wreck was at a breakfast in the early stages of the buying and sinking project, so it was great to actually be able to dive on it, in a few years when nature has been allowed to make it's self at home this will be an even more awesome dive.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth diving the Van.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Much of the perspective of the wreck is based on visibility. When I went water was 84, and vis. was poor, but it was warm. It is well worth diving several times

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vandenberg Wreck also viewed

 

Been to Vandenberg Wreck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vandenberg Wreck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.