We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tropical Inn
Save
You added Tropical Inn to your Saves list
812 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily wine-tasting
Ranked #13 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Abingdon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This was our first B&B experience and we have to say it was wonderful. We normally stay at a bigger resort when we come to Key West. The location is excellent, there are many bars and restaurants to choose from within in a short walk. You could also easily walk to the end of Duval for the sunset and the huge selection of bars and restaurants there. We stayed in the Geeko Garden room, wonderful room! It has a nice King Size bed, a private terrace with a hottub. We never used the hottub or terrace, but it was very private. The grounds are very nice with a small pool and seating surrounded by trees, greenery and flowers. You really can't tell that Duval is just steps away, it's very private. The pool was really nice to relax in, we actually feel asleep in the lounge chairs one afternoon. One thing though, if you are going to sunbathe, the pool area is mostly covered with little direct sun. The Breakfast they offered was a Continental type, really good pastries each morning The Inn is really nice, well worth the stay, we will certainly be back.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    91
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
492
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What can I say about the Tropical Inn? Well, for starter's have stayed there five times already. THis is the ONLY place we will stay in Key West. Love it that much! Brandi is the absolute BEST innkeeper. Now, Shelby is on-board to help out also. She is great also. Everyone is so friendly. They absolutely make you feel right at home with the hospitality. Can't wait till out next trip this New Year's.

Room Tip: Key Lime loft is our favorite! Small but quaint right down to the dreamsicle color. Great deck with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My now husband and I stayed at the Tropical Inn for 8 nights during our honeymoon. The customer service was great, perfect location and pool. We stayed in the Pineapple Hideaway...I would recommend this room for a long stay as it has a full size refrigerator and microwave. We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay at the Tropical Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We made such a wonderful choice for our wedding anniversary trip. Kind and helpful staff (I forgot her name but she was from Canada), ideal location, clean room, lovely courtyard and cute pool. Great place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our 2nd stay at Tropical Inn and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Matter of fact, we re-arranged our days so we could stay here again. This place is just so cute and clean. Brandi is just the best. So nice and helpful. You can tell she takes pride in her place. We stayed in the Conch Courtyard. It is way too cute right off the pool. Just adorable. I was a little worried that it may be noisy since it's right off the pool and breakfast area but we heard nothing. Loved this little stand alone cottage. We definitely recommend staying here during your Key West visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We flew into Key West this time, no car hassle, cab right to the door. Neat place, great hosts, great maid service, garden and pool so private, iguana was friendly too. We spent more time doing what we like because everything was close. The cigar guy down the way always had something different everyday. The wine bar next door was real cozy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at Tropical Inn for 1 night at the Mango room. Room was clean with nice deco but on the small size. Check in staff was friendly and we enjoyed the free wine tasting coupon for the wine bar next door. The pool and jacuzzi area was nice. Breakfast however was disappointing with the lack of choice, would be much better if cooked breakfast were to be available. The best thing about the hotel was the location and its proximity to everything and yet surprisingly quiet in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn

Address: 812 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic bed and breakfast in Old Town Key West, an oasis of tranquility amidst the excitement of legendary Duval Street. This romantic Key West bed and breakfast features comfortable rooms, Garden Cottage Suites, private outdoor spas and a delectable expanded continental breakfast buffet. Come enjoy the beauty and comfort of this charming Key West inn! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.