We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location, wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seascape Tropical Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seascape Tropical Inn to your Saves list
Seascape Tropical Inn
420 Olivia St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location, wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel! We had a very large room, very nicely decorated, we lived it!

Location: right next to Duval street, so perfect!

Breakfast: best breakfast we've had in the usa, including fresh fruits, mimosa's, waffles, cake, bread, ...

The hotel has a private parking: 10 dollars for 1 day

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We loved having you here, Barbara! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here in Key West, and that we served your favorite breakfast in the states—what an honor! We hope to welcome you back again next year.

Cheers,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    63
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
293
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After lots of research, we booked the Queen Terrace room (#6 upstairs) at the Seascape. The room was ok...kind of small, but not bad for a B&B. The decor was pleasant and it was pretty quiet, as far as outside noise.
The girl at the desk had NO personality...never smiled, didn't offer any help or suggestions...just said "sign here" to pay at arrival. I had to ask her to show me where the room was!
The bedroom looked ok, but the mattress sagged and left me with a backache each day. The bathroom needs some updating...some baseboards were rotted away and it looked "tired", and the shower curtain was dirty and mildewed. The last night and morning of our stay, we had no hot water (and neither did our friends in the next room). When I reported this to the desk girl (she never told us her name), she just said "Oh, #7 said they didn't have hot water either." Turns out, some workers turned off the water the previous day and forgot to turn it back on.
There is a continental breakfast each morning...pastries, bread, fancy butters/spreads, juice, coffee, etc. It was decent, except the OJ was undrinkable (surprising for Florida!) We never used the "pool", which is a large hot tub, because it was unseasonably hot and the water was too warm.
The room a/c worked pretty well, but it made a LOT of noise. (The a/c in room #5 is much quieter.)
The location is excellent...just off Duval, about halfway between the ends of town. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, and the Hemingway House is just around the corner.
Parking is very limited, but we lucked out and got a space right in front and left the car there the entire time. The parking lot ($10/day) is 3 blocks away.
Although the location is excellent, I doubt that I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms #5 (king) and #6 (queen) are upstairs and have private decks. I assume they are quieter than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It's very disappointing to hear about this. We want all of our guests to feel welcome and comfortable, so we are truly disheartened to learn that we have fallen short in terms of service. After reviewing your comments regarding our front desk, we can completely understand your frustration. What you've described is completely unacceptable, and we apologize. That said, we know that we can do better, and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you should you return to Key West. Until then, thank you for your candor.

Best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Seascape several times through multiple owners and fell in love with the place. Although the new owners seem engaged and involved, I am sad to see the service level at the desk go down so much. The location of this B+B is amazing and the house is nice, not great (it is over 125 years old) but what kept us coming back was the service from the people who owned it and worked there. From KoKo to Lynn and Dave and Marcia the guests were the main focus and the most improtant part of the stay. To see several reports of poor and unfriendly service from the worker (s) in the office is sad. I have booked my twice annual trip to KW and chose for the first time to stay somewhere else due to the reporst. I will say that the new owners seem responsive and open but how many poor reports does it take to make a change in your employee? Need to change the employee or change the employee. Just makes me very sad.....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We're very sorry to learn of your disappointment. As you mentioned, our guests are our first priority, so it is upsetting to that you feel our hospitality has declined. However, we can assure you that our passion for providing fantastic service has not changed, and we will do everything in our power to ensure that each guest feels welcome and comfortable. We hope to have another opportunity to do this for you as well.

Regards,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

First time in KW. Read teviews on the inn and went with it. Lady at the desk could've cracked a smile (even a fake one you do to paying customers would been ok.) Reserved the King room for our anniversary and was given the queen with two beds. When I asked about the change, she said someone called to tell me the error on the booking sites part but, no one answered the call on my part. Professional ethics call for a follow up call until notified, were I'm concered. Clock in room not working. Party next door had music thumping against our wall all night. Gotta say, with the price we paid, comming from LA, not a happy anniversary memory. When we finally expressed our problems after all this, we got " Sorry, nothing we can do." Well sorry, never comming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
After reviewing your comments, we can completely understand your frustration. The lack of service you described is not only completely unacceptable, but unlike us in every way. We apologize for failing to remedy the situation during your stay, but we know that we can do better. We want to make this right, so don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this further. We hope to hear from you soon.

All the best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monopoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our two nights stay has been too short! Upon arrival we have been checked in nicely and we have been provided with a map of Key West. The room was very spacious and so lovely and clean we almost wanted to stay in during the evening, but of course we are not on holiday to stay inside! Also the location is perfect! 2 steps away from the Duval street where you can find many shops and restaurants. Everything is at walking distance but if we had stayed longer we surely would have loved renting a bicycle.
The bed & breakfast is small and very friendly decorated, it almost feels like home! Breakfast was excellent and the kindness of the receptionists much appreciated!
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Marijke,

We can't blame you for wanting to stay in, but we're glad that you decided to get out and enjoy the city! It sounds like you had a blast here in Key West, and we couldn't be happier to hear it. We hope to welcome you back next time you're looking to get away!

Warm regards,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to this B & B, and while still very nice, it has lost some of it's luster. There are new owners and to their credit they kept things pretty much the same I just wish I could have met them. We were there from Monday, March 25th until Friday 29th and the 4 different people that we saw working there were very nice, but no one introduced themselves as the owner. The breakfast is adequate-coffee, tea, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit and waffles, and the mimosas are a nice touch. They still have the courtesy fridge with soda, water, beer & wine. The room we had was room #1 which although very neat and clean, when we first arrived it had a very strong musty odor. We left the window open for 2 days and sprayed with Febreese and it cleared up. I would not recommend this room because it is right by the front door and 2 windows open to the front porch, and the other 2 face the storage space under the stairs. If people come and go late at night you here the door slamming. The Inn is in a great location, right off Duval Street away from the noise but still close to everything. I would still recommend the Seascape Tropical Inn, but next time we go we will probably try something different. One warning about Key West-Roosters! Bring ear plugs for sleeping or you will be awakened very early every morning. I am not kidding they are very loud and plentiful. The seascape provides ear plugs if you need them and they were greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for staying with us once again. Although we were delighted to hear your compliments, we are as concerned as you were about the odor you described. We apologize, and we will certainly look into this. That said, you are correct about the roosters—they can become quite loud! Thank you for leaving such great tips for fellow travelers, and for your kind words. We hope to make the necessary upgrades and host your next trip to Key West.

Best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved this hidden diamond. I was skeptical after reading some reviews on the staff - but was pleased when I arrived. The staff was friendly - the room was great. we stayed in room 6 without own little terrace and sun chairs.
Perfect location and in the middle either sides on Key West. Bring your ear plugs because the rooster will wake you up!
The breakfast was good and it was great to have water bottles and drinks whenever you wanted (with a small donation). You can pay for parking if you wish and the lot is a couple of blocks down, but we were lucky and found parking right in ffrontI would definalty recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
420Service, Manager at Seascape Tropical Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It was our pleasure to help you feel at home! Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments with our team, Sabrina—everyone will be delighted to hear how impressed you were. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the best,
Seascape Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seascape Tropical Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Tropical Inn

Address: 420 Olivia St, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday at the Seascape Tropical Inn. Enjoy one our six tropically appointed rooms or our spacious Havana Suite. Secluded sundecks, in-ground heated pool/spa and lush tropical gardens surround you in quiet serenity. Seascape Tropical Inn, one of Key Wests best kept secrets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seascape Tropical Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Tropical Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seascape Tropical Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.