We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moe's Room and Shared Bathrooms: Don't Knock it Until You Try it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Key West Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
415 William Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Moe's Room and Shared Bathrooms: Don't Knock it Until You Try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was my third trip to Key West and by far Key West B&B was my favorite place to stay.

My mother (55) and I (20) stayed in Moe's Room the week of May 18th- May 24th in Moe's room on the second floor, which does not have an in-room bathroom. However, the bathrooms that are shared among 4 other rooms are always clean and very "spa-like." These bathrooms are NOT the typical hotel- stale, white washed walls bathrooms or dorm commune bathroom stalls. They are just what you want your home bathroom to be if you cleaned it everyday (possibly more than once a day). The first bathroom closest to Moe's room (average 4-5 steps away) was larger (handicapped sized in my opinion) with quaint aqua-turquoise blue tile. The shower in that bath was raised a little above the ground and had tall frosted block walls surrounding you. This bathroom also had a very large (3- 4ft long) counter/cabinet that wasn't connected to the sink to place clothes, and toiletries. There was also plenty of room for the toilet and sink. The other bathroom was much smaller but still as charming.
Also, the doors for both bathrooms do lock, but the rule of thumb is if the door is shut somebody's in it. So when you're done in the bathroom leave the door open.

Shower schedules:
Usually busy around 8:00 am because Jodi, Liz and Trisha's breakfasts have the home-baked pastries (best in Key West) and a foot tall mountain of all the fruits you can imagine, so everyone wants to get up for them immediately. :)
My mom and I usually got up 7:00 am and 7:30 am respectively so we could shower in the larger blue bathroom before anyone got up. During the day, you never have problems waiting for a bathroom room to open up. Also, you don't really have to worry about walking in the hall with just a towel down the hall. There is plenty of room to leave your clothes on that huge counter (they won't get wet) and it is spacious enough to get dressed in there.

Activities/food:
When you get there, Jodi, Liz or Trisha will sit you down with a map of Key West, will ask you what you are interested in doing and will give you some suggestions. Especially, listen well to their food, and activity suggestions! They will tell you what's good and what isn't really worth your time. I did not have one meal that wasn't delicious because of them. My favorite restaurant (though food in Key West is really expensive) was Santiago's Bodego, which is a Tapas restaurant. The waiters/servers really enjoy their job, and like to joke around when they bring your many different tapas to you. You will have a fun time with them. Also, the food was stellar! (Prosciutto wrapped dates with goat cheese- yum!) We also went on a Danger Charter, Capt. Wade and Dale were a riot, it was a pretty intimate snorkel and kayak trip of 20 people or less. We did a half-day trip and I am not a strong swimmer (also I have never snorkeled before) but I still had a great time doing this. My favorite part was the kayaking though because they led you straight into the mangroves and the water was very calm there.

Other things we did: Went to Tropic Cinema: Small, Classy like theater that shows mostly great independent films. (We went to the Grand Budapest Hotel- quirky little movie), The Coffee Mill Dance Studio for some drop-in Zumba classes- Good way to meet some of the locals and workout in the morning. Went to Smather's beach (best free admissions beach) and Custom's house (local history/art museum). Fort Zach is a good beach too. If you go to Higg's beach there is the AID's pier/bridge nearby. On calm day there, you can see a variety of fish just by looking over the side of the bridge into the clear water. It's awesome and free.

Other room stuff:
AC conditioning is fantastic if you need it. My mom and I were personally sick of the cold being from Minnesota and all, so we turned it off and opened the windows and enjoyed Key West's naturally gorgeous weather. Room service makes your bed- and changes sheets and towels everyday if you need it/ they will do it anyways. Goo- Jodi's dog is adorable and friendly. You can rent bikes there for $60/week per person, which is the cheapest and fastest way to get around Key West. I haven't biked in years and I had a great time on them.

Bottom line: Come here, chat up some knowledgeable locals, and take it easy, you're in Key West now. ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    50
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
444
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My friend and I enjoyed a fabulous two night stay at the wonderfully artsy B&B! We stayed in Bella, a beautifully decorated room with a Queen bed plus single bed. Although it didn't have a private bath, we had no troubles getting into one of the two shared baths. The location is superb, the staff exception (with tourist info, cleaning, and breakfast prep). Great Wifi all throughout!

The art at this B&B is phenomenal; The owner clearly has an amazing eye for artistry.

If I return to Key West, I will definitely be staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Friends recommended this B&B and it lived up to expectation (great service, food and location). I can see why others on Travel Adviser raved about the breakfast. It was delicious. The location is great situated in a quiet street but only a five minutes walk away from the action.

Room Tip: You don't need a car for old part of Key West where we stayed and explored. We drove down from F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I found this place in a Key West travel guide and immediately knew my boyfriend and I needed to stay there during our Key West vacation. All of the staff was very knowledgable about the area and gave us great recommendations for activities and food. This place is a gem! It has a beautiful patio, with lush vegetation and a dipping pool to cool off in. It's such a beautiful and relaxing environment! It needs to be experienced first hand. This B&B is also within walking distance of everything including delicious restaurants, the Hemingway House, shopping on Duvall St and so much more! The owner also has an adorable Pomeranian called Goo. If you're going to Key West, stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just a note to say that staying at the Key West Bed and Breakfast was the best place to stay in Key West. Close to everything, wonderful restaurant direction from Liz based on what we were looking for. Rooms were clean and spacious, baths well equipped with what I forgot to bring. . excellent place to stay, and I'd like to think I'll be back to stay again

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room there. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Nun's room is compact at around 3m x 3m and sadly the Nun was not in residence during my stay. That said, it had twice the drawer space I needed for my two week vacation. The dual aspect windows on the Northwest and Southwest let in lots of light giving a open spacious feel, supplemented by a full length mirror opposite the one facing the side. The bed is comfortable, the closet has enough hanging space for a two week wardrobe and the bedside cabinet had no trouble accommodating my laptop, iPad, spectacles, watch, notebook and a glass of water, as well as the lamp.There is a comfortable wicker armchair and ample storage for suitcases at the bottom of and above the closet.
            Three paces from the door to the room and you are on a wide deep balcony which is in cool shade until late afternoon. From here you have a commanding view up and down the street through the veil of foliage from the surrounding trees. It runs the full width of the house and is around 2.4 metres deep. It has a garden bench and a swing seat, both of which hold two people, as well as a small table with two chairs. The best bit is the large hammock – a great place to chill while watching red headed black and white woodpeckers picking for insects amongst the branches or admiring the scarlet-orange splashes of Royal Poinciana blossom over the rooftops across the street
            WiFi is free and worked well across all my devices, inside the house, on the balconies and in the beautiful tropical garden. The shared bathrooms, just three or four paces along the landing were immaculately clean at all times. This is my first stay in the Nun's Room but not my first time at the Key West Bed and Breakfast. I have stayed on a number of occasions and have already booked another two week trip in the same room later this year. It has become very much a second home. You will not find a finer place nor nicer people. 

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

SIMPLY THE BEST! From the warmth and hospitality of the staff,to the location,lovely rooms,and delicious breakfast,everything was perfect.The patio and porches too,are just so inviting .Another great stay.Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.Shared bathrooms,never a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 William Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Caribbean Casual ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key West Bed And Breakfast - The Popular House Hotel Key West
Key West b&b - The Popular House
Key West b And b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.