We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Key West Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Key West Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
415 William Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a return visit. Exemplary accommodation.The staff are really happy and helpful and the legendary breakfast is still legendary. You can not go wrong with this B and B. I will return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    55
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
470
65
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This place is perfect for a Key West visit. They were fantastic hosts and you can't beat the location...just a short walk to the hopping-est part of Duval, but nice and quiet when you're ready for bed. We stayed in the King Room, which is an absolutely beautiful room with one of the coolest beds I've ever slept in...one warning, it is across from the front desk, so if you want to sleep really late you might be woken up to the sound of people checking in or out. Breakfast is nothing fancy but they do it well...fresh breads, yummy fruits, we were not left wanting more. We spent our days walking Duval and found their hot tub to be the perfect place to wind down before bed. We'll definitely stay here anytime we come to Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Room and if we came back we'd definitely request this room again...it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I spent part of the Thanksgiving week in Key West and stayed at the Key West Bed and Breakfast on William Street. From the moment we arrived on Wednesday afternoon until Sunday morning when we departed for home the staff and guests were all so friendly and helpful. The staff had recommendations on places to eat, shop and party along with coupons for many discounts at local restaurants, attractions and bars. Guests who had been there before also had recommendations on places to go and see. Each morning while having breakfast we shared what adventures other guests had the day before and were able to plan out activities, some mornings, from recommendations of the guests at breakfast.

The residence itself is very quaint, exceptionally clean with wonderful art work and the morning breakfast is to die for! Each morning there is a new and different home baked item which is very delicious. While we were there we had a fruit cobbler and a sour cream apple pie was absolutely delicious! Along with the baked goods they serve a variety of fresh fruits, bagels, toast, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee and an over abundance of hospitality!

The B & B is within walking distance of Duvall Street, Mallory Square and many attractions, restaurants and shops.

We would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting Key West!

Room Tip: We stayed in the yellow room which was on the back side of the B & B and had its on bathroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Key West and we were looking forward to a new experience and happy to say that we were very pleased. I read several reviews on different properties and settled on The Popular House and I'm glad we did. Great staff, very clean and beautiful accommodations.

A few points to consider
-Yesss!!! No tv's or telephones - that's why we stay at a B&B
-Excellent staff:Lynn and Liz-great with suggestions
- Breakfast is served at 8:30 not before which was fine with us and clearly spelled out in the policies sent to us at the time of reservation. We did not appreciate the guest who complained very loudly about the schedule, who obviously didn't take the time to read policies. If you want to eat at seven am stay at a hotel.
- This is an old house therefore it functions like an old house which is one of the main reasons we picked it. We love the look and feel of something with history. The stairs creak. If you want a soundproof box - go stay at a hotel.
-Off season rates are a good value

A+

Room Tip: We had the third floor front room - we felt like we were all by ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This B&B is in a great location--close enough to walk to the action but far enough to be quiet and relaxing. It is a bit of a walk to the Ft. Zach beach--suck it up and take a cab or rent a bike. The best part was how helpful the people who work there were. Don't hesitate to ask questions or for assistance with anything. The breakfast is fresh and substantial for a continental-style meal. We didn't get to use the dipping pool, but it's just right for cooling off after being out and about. My only complaint is that there is no air conditioning in the bathrooms and hallways and the lighting in the room could be improved. We did the shared bath (Bella's room) and there was always a bathroom available and they were always clean and stocked with fresh towels. Overall, you cannot go wrong with this place and the price is definitely right. Don't hesitate--you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If you want to save money, don't be afraid of the shared bath! It's not an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had not been in KeyWest for years, so when we decided to go back, we knew, my wife and I, that it had to be at KWBB. We had been there twice in 2003 and 2004 for weeklong stays and loved it then.
Well, nothing as changed and it is still such a wonderfull place to stay. We where so happy to meet again with Liz, the manager. She even phoned us to greet us in advance because she remembered us. I would say she remembers everyone because she takes notes and makes sure everything will be perfect for all the guests.
The house is so beautifull and charming. Old, but so well kept. Everywhere you look, you're surrounded with beautifull objects.
The place is quiet, no TV's in the room, no phones. A jacuzzi waits for you when your day is over and you want to relax.
Breakfast is great, fruits, bagels, bread, cakes, whatever... The coffee is perfect and the morning sun will probably greet you on the terasse.
Like the title says, "it's just like visiting family" and only having the good sides. :)

Room Tip: The rooms for which you share batrooms are great : less expensive and so cosy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Getting my husband to a Bed and Breakfast wasn't easy but after our stay he said when we
come back to Key West this is where I want to stay. We loved our room on the third floor with a beautiful view off the balcony. No Tv's no Telephones. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. They treated you as if you were old friends. The breakfast was a sight to behold, fresh fruit, fresh
baked goods and you could squeeze your own "Florida Orange juice". We will recommend this little piece of paradise to everyone.
Mike and Carol from Sarasota, Florida

Room Tip: The third floor room with the balcony made you feel like you were the only one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Key West Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bed and Breakfast

Address: 415 William Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Caribbean Casual ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Key West Bed And Breakfast - The Popular House Hotel Key West
Key West b&b - The Popular House
Key West b And b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.