We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely second stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frances Street Bottle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frances Street Bottle Inn
535 Frances Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely second stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Staying in Key West for the second time, we also choose to stay at the Bottle Inn for the second time. We had a lovely experience staying there two years ago, so we went back.

Our room (No 2 like 2 yrs ago) incl. bathroom was very clean and the direct porch access via the room is a wonderful add on. We stayed there for 2 nights. The air condition was rather loud, but to me not louder than at any other Motel, Inn or B&B I've stayed at in the US! With a 159 USD + tax per night, it 's not necessarily a cheap stay, but for Key West Standards it is okay.

The breakfast was basic, but healthy and sufficient (though no real OJ) including tortilla, baked potatoes and fresh fruits. Also you could have breakfast inside or on the porch, just as where you wished to seat yourself. The dining area and all the porches have comfy chair where you really can relax. They are a bit used, but still okay. Also there is a large hang mat available in the backyard. There is also the ice machine and the rag with beach towels (!). The neighbourhood is quiet at day and at night and apparently also pretty safe. The Inn sometimes doesn't even lock the door at day time and the key to your room will be hanging in an envelope outside at the door when you arrive.

We also enjoyed the free cookies (freshly baked every morning!), sodas, wine and beer. Also mentionable is the kind of drinking fountain they have. You have always cold spring water available and it's not coming from the tap!!

Mark and April, the Inn keepers are really lovely, laid back and caring people. For instance, I needed to print something from my email account and April just let me do so at her computer with no further ado. She was extremely helpful.

The distance to Duvall street is about 6 blocks or about 15 minutes if you take a stroll, 10 if you speed up a bit. It is a lovely walk through Key West's Old Town. Once arrived on Duvall, it's another 10 minutes to Mallory Square. Walking to the beach from here is a bit too far with those temperates in June. But there are enough parking spaces at Higgs Beach or the State Park Beaches, so driving is not a problem. You can also easily bike the distance. About 15 minutes.

All in all, a lovely experience and if we make it back to Key West we'll most likely will choose to stay at the Bottle Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    45
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
23
147
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Upon reading previous reviews & the website I was more than excited to be staying there. I have to start out by saying that April was amazing but as far as food goes it was disappointing as was the room. The bed was comfortable and the shower was warm unlike previous reviews,however, the air conditioning did not get below 80. We reported the problem and April came immediately and looked at it stated that there were no available rooms but she could move us the next day. Thankfully we are not huge breakfast people... we saw it and were not thrilled. Bacon and eggs in a crockpot with donuts and fruit. No vegetarian delights that I was hoping for since when we made the reservation we stated I was a vegetarian. I read there was afternoon wine and desserts and that description was true with a far stretch from what I envisioned. A quarter bottle of open wine in the fridge and stale cookies with the doors were locked by 9:30 every night with no access to anything but your room and the porch. If the descriptions were a little more honest I would not of been disappointed despite the lack of food and cool air the room did it's purpose.That being said the time that we actually spent in the room was minimal we slept there and showered and were out the whole day. The location was great because it was in a historic district far enough away to get away from all the drunks on duval street and there were some amazing places to eat on Southard which the bed and breakfast is on the corner of. I would recommend staying there as long as you are aware that you will have a cozy room with a cute porch out of the maddness. There is a mini fridge so I suggest bringing some items you want.April is willing to bend over backwards to try and help in any way she can. She is what made the experience

Room Tip: We were in room 8 with a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011 via mobile

I recently stayed at Bottle Inn and it was hands down the best trip I have had to key west ever. I will be making this location my new go to place when looking to stay in KW.

Mark and April were fantastic host who met every need we could have asked for. From bike rentals, to aspirin, to band aids... they had an answer for every request.

We brought our two dogs and they felt right at home. The rooms were spacious, clean, and most importantly in the summer... nice and cool! We loved the look and feel of every part of this place. So did my parents who stayed upstairs the same weekend.

Everything we expected and then some. I'm a researcher before I stay anywhere and all the great reviews on here led me to the best location, with the best value, and the best people around. I truly felt like a local.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We loved our stay here! Mark & April were great! They had a really nice breakfast every day, and they were extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations and places to visit. Would definitely recommend using their bicycle rentals; this is a great way to get around and see everything. Much easier and more fun than driving everywhere! We stayed in Room 8, which had a very comfortable king sized bed and was very nicely decorated. We especially liked the private patio attached to our room. We brought our dog with us, and she had plenty of room to enjoy her stay, as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte,FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our 5th visit to the Bottle Inn and still love it. April and Mark are the best innkeepers! Our room was super clean and comfortable as was my mother and sister's room. The breakfast was great everyday. The new hammock was wonderful. As always they make you and your dog feel like family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in Room 3, the Veranda Suite, for seven nights in early May 2011. Everything about our stay was excellent - the Inn, the room, the Inn's operators Mark and April, the substantial breakfasts, the always-stocked refrigerator, the location. Mark and April make you feel like family, and our room was a home away from home. See their website for photos of the Veranda Suite - two separate rooms, and about a mile of veranda with settee, table with two chairs, and a chaise lounge. Very comfortable. There is a small but very handy kitchenette with frig, microwave, and sink. Across the street is the excellent Cafe' Sole', for those nights when you don't want to walk far. Also a very short distance away, the equally excellent Azur restaurant, and the Cuban sandwich shop Five Brothers for a take away lunch. All-in-all, the Bottle Inn was perfect for us - close enough to Duval Street, yet far enough away for quiet and a neighborhood feel. Oh yeah, and at the end of each busy day, you return to a breakfast room refrigerator stocked with ice cold beer and Pinot Grigio. Ahhh...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capistrano Beach, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We want to start by saying thank you to Mark and April, they made all of us feel right at home. We traveled with my husbands mom and her good friend Jean. It was nice having someone for mom and Jean to talk to when we were sleeping in or just taking our time getting ready to go somewhere. There are alot of things to do in Key West and Mark and April will advise you on whatever you would like. The breakfast is always hot and great, except when we didn't get up until too late and it was all gone, but that was our fault not Marks or Aprils. The Panama Suite was nice except the bed creaked too much, maybe they need to put some boards under the mattress or something along those lines. Other than that our 2 room suite with a full kitchenette was wonderful. Mom and Jeans room 7 was cozy and quaint with their own outside table and chairs always in the shade, there is not much else you need when you have the full dining room available if you need it. Again this was the perfect place to stay, far enough away from Duval so you don't get kept up all night from the revelers. We never had a problem with traffic or noise at all. Mom did have a dog barking in the morning, but alot of us get that in the morning at our houses also and just remember if a dog is barking it's because something is going on that they want their owners to check out. We woulld definetly refer others too this bnb and if we ever travel back to the area we would not hesistate to stay there again. Thanks Mark and April.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the suite which had more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frances Street Bottle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frances Street Bottle Inn

Address: 535 Frances Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your travel to tropical Key West by staying at this romantic Key West bed and breakfast. The Frances Street Bottle Inn offers intimate accommodations, combining modern comfort and warm hospitality in a casual setting. Each room at the Inn is designed with your comfort in mind. The rooms each have king or queen sized beds, air conditioning, private baths, Bahama fans, original tropical artwork, and many more special touches that create a charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frances Street Bottle Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frances Street Bottle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frances Street Bottle Inn to your Saves list