We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine Day Party was a great extra at Curry Mansion Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   511 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special!
Ranked #27 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Valentine Day Party was a great extra at Curry Mansion Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Back at the Curry, this time for their famous Valentine's Day Charity Party. We were told in advance that there was an annual party, this was the 30th year that they have raised money for a local child care provider The Wesley House. Over 5 million has been raised over $300,000 this year.
The staff included us in the prep and moved our car out of the way, there was unlimited food and drinks by the staff of Sloppy Joe's, bands, dancing and a bit of rain. We were thrilled to be included in this little piece of Key West. Our room near the pool provided great access to everything.More than three quarters of the 30 or so rooms are regulars that book for Edith's Valentine Party every year, what a blast. We will try and shift our dates again next year. Everyone goes out of their way to help you, even the other guests want to be sure that you know everyone. The breakfast, cocktail and free parking make this the best deal in town. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    60
    15
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
151
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I am very surprised that there are so many outstanding reviews for this place. The "mansion" is a small number of rooms, most are in the annex behind or across the street. Happy hour was nice, but was cancelled one evening so the staff could focus on an event happening on the street. We were not told of the event at the time of booking, although it affected our ability to park on site and to enjoy the "quiet" atmosphere suggested on their site. A young man (Brian?) at the front desk was terribly rude and unapologetic. The room was clean but smelled musty. I had higher expectations for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Curry Mansion was just how we had pictured a Southern Mansion would be. With it's "wrap-around-porch" front entrance and all. It even har the "Widow's Walk" with a wonderfull view. Walking through the house itself, kept so in period, and discovering all the little details, was great fun. The service was super, and everybody did their outmost to make us feel at home and as one of the family. The breakfast great and the evening "coctail-hour" such a treat. If we ever have the chance, we WILL be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Curry Mansion Inn too many times to count. I return time after time. Why? Because the location is perfect, it's very convenient, it's clean, the staff is friendly and welcoming, and, after staying here so many times, it feels like home! I've stayed both in the Mansion and across the street at the James House.

When you walk through the Mansion door to check-in, and you hear the little bell announcing your arrival, you're transported to a different time period. The Mansion is a look into the past with historically correct furnishings. I love the canopy beds, the breakfasts with made-to-order eggs/omelets, the two hour serve-yourself happy hours and the ambiance. The round pool, although small, is where the old cistern graced the property many, many years ago. And the view from the widow's walk is absolutely breathtaking!

Best of all is getting to talk with the delightful Edith Amsterdam, the owner of this beautiful Victorian era home. Although this Bed and Breakfast is just steps away from the corner of Duval and Caroline Streets, it's quite quiet and relaxing.

Room Tip: If you have any trouble with steps, the rooms that surround the pool are perfect. There is an eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were a little concerned because the ranking wasn't very high in a few reviews. The service was great and very friendly,made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean,breakfast was great and the evening reception just right. It set us up for great night on Duval.
I'm recommending other family members stay here when they visit Key West in April.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights. Been to KW many times but this was our first stay at the Curry. We had a King room in the guest quarters behind the mansion. Room is very spacious for KW. Bed was comfortable. Service by all staff was friendly and the made to order breakfast was very good. The help yourself happy hour was also a nice touch. Location is great. You are a 2 minute walk to all the action yet you do not hear the noise and feel secluded once at the hotel. I also appreciate a hotel that does nickel and dime. There is a fridge in every room. Water and drinks available. And they have a washer and dryer you can use free of charge.
Only issues and they are minor is that seating at breakfast can get crowded. Tables are touching each other and space to spread out and read the morning paper is sometimes not possible. And the pool is not one that you are going to be able lay out by. Not an issue for us but if you want to lay out by the pool this is not the place. Overall this is very good hotel. Great location. Good service. We will be back and highly recommend staying here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We (myself, wife, & adult daughter) stayed Wednesday to Sunday over Thanksgiving weekend at the Curry Mansion (James Place). Have stayed in KW many times but this was our 1st stay at the Curry Mansion. When we arrived the Mansion's dining room table was elegantly set up for a formal dinner with fine antique China, glassware, and cutlery. Lady Edith, the owner, had her family in town. The family did not have Thanksgiving dinner there and the table settings were removed after Thanksgiving but this really added to the charm and ambience of the mansion. The Curry Mansion has a great location 1/2 block from Duval Street and convenient to everything. The entire complex is exceptionally clean.The rooms are clean & quiet, the beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and accommodating. When you factor in the great breakfast, the cocktail hour, and the free parking included, this really provides value to your cost of stay. Lady Edith is a delight to have a conversation with. You can tell the staff loves and respects her. She is a great source for historical information. You can be sure future visits to KW will include staying at the Curry Mansion.

Room Tip: Stay in the James House across the street and part of the complex. It is more like a hotel than B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn

Address: 511 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built by Florida's first millionaire, the Curry Mansion is one of Key West's most beautiful buildings. The Mansion has the perfect location, just off Duval St. near Mallory Square. The Inn consists of three buildings and has ample off-street parking. A complimentary full, hot breakfast with omelets and a 2 hour open bar cocktail party are offered daily around the sparkling pool. All rooms have full private bath, AC, and small fridge. The Curry Mansion's friendly and knowledgeable staff, excellent location, free parking and amenities offer a complete Key West experience not to be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curry Mansion Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam's Curry Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.