We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO sand beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Higgs Beach

Higgs Beach
Old Town Key West, Key West, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO sand beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

OK Key wast has no beaches. This "beach" is a bed of coral smooth but where do you sit. you walk across smooth rock coral to a long pier and then climb down a ladder to get into the water. Now the water is absolutely gorgeous, So it kind of makes up for the no sand thing. Oh and it is owned by a hotel so if you are staying somewhere else ask if they have beach privildges as this is privat. Our B and B had vouchers.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    59
    40
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dirty Beach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I don't like too much this beach, there are a small beach surface with not really clean sand, low level of facilities, only interesting thing is that you can leave your car really close to you, but that's all... bad choice to go there...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not sure why people like this beach so much. When I went there in July there was a bunch of seaweed in the water and on the sand. It was dirty! I enjoyed Fort Zachary Taylor Beach much better! The water is clearer at Zach Taylor.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beach in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Key West is not famous for its beaches but Higgs beach is great to go to with children as it is shallow. Good for snorkeling. We liked it way better than Ft. Zachary beach and you don't have to pay here to enter.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kids loved Higgs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Higgs beach is free and has something for everyone. There is a long dock that the kids loved jumping off into the water. There is decent sand for lots of play. There is a newly built playground if the children tire of sand and water. There is a restaurant if you get hungry. Bathroom and shower facilities are available as well. Parking was plentiful, but it was July. The water was ok, not too blue but tolerable. A bit of seaweed that was annoying, but nice and warm water that was shallow for a nice stretch into the water. If we could somehow get the beautiful blue water at Ft. Zachary with all of the other features and perks of Higgs, this would be a 5 star beach. It was, however, our favorite of all the beaches in Key West, and if you have a dog...there's a place for them too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgs Beach also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Higgs Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higgs Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.