We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved riding the Conch Train!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conch Tour Train

Conch Tour Train
Mallory Square, Key West, FL 33040
305-294-5161
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$30*
and up
Ranked #114 of 321 Activities in Key West
Activities: Group tours/city tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the best of Key West on the tour that has been entertaining visitors since 1958. Our expert 'engineers' and friendly staff have delighted guests with the legends and tales of Ernest Hemingway, and Tennessee Williams and the stories of the pirates, Indians, wreckers and artists who called this island home. 90 minutes and over 100 points of interest. No Key West vacation is complete without the world famous Conch Tour Train.
GRANTS PASS, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved riding the Conch Train!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My family and I took the tour on the Conch train ride while we were in Key West, Florida. Since we didn't have much time to spend in Key West taking this tour gave us a great tour of the city as well as a lot of historical information about the city. It takes around one and a half hours for the whole tour. It will be longer if you choose to get off and spend more time at America's southernmost place. If you get off there you can wait for another train to pick you up. This is called a train but I really would call it a tram ride, kind of like they have in the Disney World parking lots. This ride was a lot of fun and easier than having to walk everywhere. We spent our time later walking around and visiting some of the shops and had lunch before we had to leave town and drive back to Orlando.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    194
    77
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tommy was the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This has got to be a must for anyone who visits the island, even if only for a day. A place ripe with history is shown off by people who love it, and it shows. When we visited, our guide was Tommy, and he did an amazing job explaining the soul of Key West.
Thanks, Tommy.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at Conch Tour Train, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
As a manager, it is always great from our guests comments like yours about our CASTmembers. Thank you so much for taking the time. i will be sure Tommy gets your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Train Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Very overpriced and a little long. Driver did a good job though.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at Conch Tour Train, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
I am sorry to hear you felt the tour was overpriced. We do offer a 100% money back guarantee on all of tours which you can access by visiting the customer service area of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A nice trip around the key.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The tour took about an hour and a half and wove in and out between commercial and residential areas and certainly covered the island well. We found the constant patter from the driver to get pretty old but to be fair there is a lot to see. It would be easy to pick out the sites you want to visit after the tour.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at Conch Tour Train, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
We always appreciate feed back from our guests. There is a great deal to see and do in Key West and we try to give visitors the best overview possible in the ninety minutes we have with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

very informative and do it first to get a lay of the land .. and the interesting stories past and present

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historictours, General Manager at Conch Tour Train, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Thank you for the kind words abut our tour. I will be sure to share them with our entire CAST at our morning briefing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conch Tour Train also viewed

 

Been to Conch Tour Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conch Tour Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.