We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet a sharK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Aquarium

Key West Aquarium
1 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
800 868 7482
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Conch Tour Train
Ranked #35 of 69 Attractions in Key West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet the undersea residents of Key West at the island’s first attraction. With over a 100 species of fish, turtles, sharks and birds, the Aquarium features a Touch Tank where you can pick up amazing animals. The Atlantic Shores exhibit is a near the shore mangrove environment found in the Florida Keys. See stingrays, sharks, eels, lobster, tarpon, seahorses and colorful tropical fish. Feedings and tours take place at 11am, 1pm, 3pm and 4:30pm every day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pet a sharK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Enjoyed the aquarium, interesting displays. Enjoyed watching them feed the sharks. Enjoyed the outside setting as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    211
    144
    52
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small but entertaining for a couple of hours.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's small and tired in places but the exhibits are interesting. The shark pool is quite mesmerizing, watching the sharks, which are 4 - 5 ft long, swim past only inches away with no barrier between. The touch pool for the rays is great, particularly for kids. Rays feel like warm ish wet chamois leather! The turtles are fantastic, sad faces but rescued from certain death after suffering injuries from boats and/or sharks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Big fan of the small aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We tend to enjoy the smaller aquariums such as this one (reminiscent of the one in Atlantic City). We don't expect much and therefore are not disappointed. The building itself is interesting as it was the city's first attraction. There is a lot of history about the building itself. We pet an alligator and tried to pet the sting rays, but they didn't come up to the surface. There are a handful of outside tanks as well as two walls of interior tanks. We left before the feeding of the fish, but they have feedings periodically through the day. Plan for an hour. But enjoyable and good for kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Small but jam packed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The aquarium is small, but it is stuffed full of fish, turtles, snakes, baby alligators, and more. There are multiple exhibits that allow you to touch various creatures; including stingrays, starfish, hermit crabs, and sponges. If you take the tour, you also have the option of petting the nurse sharks. However, the tour was very crowded and catered to the small children. We had more fun exploring by ourselves. Each exhibit has a display plaque, identifying the contents and explaining about their lives. A nice place to visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Small but a lot of fish/sharks/turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We live in Chicago and have the Shedd which is huge, however, there are a lot of different fish to see. The sting rays are large and there are so many nurse sharks it's scary! My favorite fish was the sand tile fish (I think). Anyway, nice place to visit, especially with younger children as you can feed stingrays and touch starfish, horseshoe crabs.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWAquarium, General Manager at Key West Aquarium, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Key West Aquarium. We appreciate the kind words about our facility which I will be sure to share with our staff.

Best regards,

Greg Gerwin, Curator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Key West Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.