We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dive Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Key West

Dive Key West
3128 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040
+1 800-426-0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Celebrating our 43rd year of providing memorable dive vacations. We offer daily reef trips to the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary and the wrecks off of Key West including the Vandenberg. Dive Key West, Inc is a full service dive facility. Our divers will also have full guest privileges at Key West Harbour where we keep our boats. You may enjoy the restaurant, bar, gym, sauna, pool and private beach.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I can not say enough good things about Dive Key West. For starters they are very helpful. When I called to schedule our dive the immediately offered to store my dive gear. Anyone who has travelled with their gear know how much space it can take up. I thought that was awesome. The day of the dive we showed up about an hour and fifteen minutes prior to the dive filled out the obligatory paper work. Set up my gear at the shop, they loaded on a truck and headed to the marina. When we got to the marina it was hands off, we were instructed to get on the boat. The Captain went through the safety stuff prior to leaving the dock. It was a short ride out the to reef only about 25 mins. the reefs that we dove on were AWESOME, saw sharks, barracuda,lobsters, and many others. After the dive just as easy as the start. They off loaded the gear, gave us a ride back to the shop. Had a place to rinse all your gear and stored it for me for my next dive a few days later. Great shop, great people. I will definitely dive with them again the next time I am in Key West!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    15
    8
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dive shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I completed my open water certification over two days through this shop with Dive Master Ian Wenham. I had some nervousness about diving in the ocean but his patience, knowledge, and sense of humor put me at ease. He pointed out several unique species of fish while we were on the dive including rays, lionfish, and porcupine fish and even took the time to get out book back at the shop to show us more about what we had seen!
Everyone in the dive shop and boat has great rapport with each other and you can tell they really enjoy what they do. I will be heading back to this shop when we dive in Key West again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My son and I dove with these folks and they were not only friendly and informative, they were careful, helpful and made our dive experience extremely comfortable. Saw a great deal of sea life, including; lobsters, crabs, 2 large grouper, barracuda, etc. If you are in Key West, these guys are a great choice to handle your dive - and their shop is fully equipped, so leave your gear at home and just rent their stuff, as it is all new and in great condition !
Be sure to tell them that Terry and Jeremy sent you !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best dive shop ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The crew was fantastic. Helpful, professional and just a nice group. Kell even rescued my wetsuit after I left it on board. Arrived at the shop the next day and it was cleaned and nice and dry for my trip home. Thanks!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best So Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have dived with a number of dive shops up and down the Keys, and I have no complaints with any of them. However, Dive Key West was by far the best experience I have had with a dive shop. From the first moment of contact the staff have been friendly, helpful, and patient with my questions. When I had to change a dive date, they did it on the spot, and gave me a credit since the dive I changed to was a reef and not a wreck dive.

The Dive shop is located a few miles from the boat. However, you set up your tank at the store and they haul all of your equipment to the boat, unload it, and set you up in the boat. If you need a ride to the boat, they will be glad to give it to you. On the boat itself: This was the first boat I have been on where you did not have to bring your own snacks--the cooler was loaded with bananas, apples, and oranges for the divers. The crew was safety conscious, but also treated you like adults. They also laughed and joked and made everyone feel at ease. One of the best crews I have had the pleasure to dive with. The dive shop is located within a mile of several hotels with reasonable rates (for Key West)--Quality Inn, Day's Inn, and Lexington Hotel are right there together and have a free shuttle that will take you downtown for the after-dive Key West experience. These are not luxury hotels, but our Quality Inn was comfortable with a free breakfast.

If you are looking for a quality Dive Shop with reasonable prices and a great staff you cannot go wrong with Dive Key West.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Key West also viewed

 

Been to Dive Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dive Key West to your Saves list