We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt even make it to the shop” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Key West

Dive Key West
3128 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040
+1 800-426-0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 83 Attractions in Key West
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Celebrating our 43rd year of providing memorable dive vacations. We offer daily reef trips to the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary and the wrecks off of Key West including the Vandenberg. Dive Key West, Inc is a full service dive facility. Our divers will also have full guest privileges at Key West Harbour where we keep our boats. You may enjoy the restaurant, bar, gym, sauna, pool and private beach.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didnt even make it to the shop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have been diving since 1987 (AOW, Rescue, Ice) and my wife since 2007. We have dove all over the world, to include Theo in Freeport and Whale Sharks in the Sea of Japan. I was deployed, so we have not gone diving for over a year.

We are headed down to KW in a few weeks, and I really wanted to dive the Vandy. The wife called KWD, and was told we would have to do a shallow reef dive with a Divemaster at the cost of an extra $100 prior to the Vandy. Although the price of the dive alone costs as much as a dive w/ a divemaster anywhere else, I understand KWD wanting to ensure we are safe divers. Then the wife was told after the reef dive, we would have to dive with a divemaster a second day on a shallow wreck (again an extra $100), and on the 3rd day we could dive the Vandy. KWD did say we would get 10% off the second dive, and 15% off the third dive.
My point is, this is excessive. $99-120 is a resonable price for a dive w/divemaster in most places. $199 plus tax each day, for 2 days, just to make the dive on Day 3 is crazy.

Again, I understand making a dive prior to the Vandy, and we planned on diving for 2 days anyways, but really!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    16
    8
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“no go,, never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

a friend and i went to dive key west and met bob and all was promised and perfect for the dive. but arriving there and starting with the gear and then going on the boat and the dives.. all was quite strange. they did not find our reservation for at least 5-10 minutes, only after that they found the creditcard slip. after that everything had to go fast, since time passed... so we did not really get confortable with the equipement, that was part of the deal. this continued on the boat.. and so on..
later we did dive with seaduction, what a different experience everything perfect.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob H, Manager at Dive Key West, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We always strive to meet our customers' expectations. We would like this reviewer to contact us and discuss his experience. Our record of trips in February 2013 shows only 1 Paul S, who needed just tanks & wts indicating he had his own equipment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun dive and crew.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went on 2 shallow reef dives/snorkels and saw some great sea life. Greg was great and Jeremy was captaining - both very nice and funny. Unfortunately, there wasn't a dive master with the other divers, only an instructor finishing a class with one student. Jeremy did get in with a few of the water shy snorkelers. Everyone had a good time and there weren't any issues. Ian was very helpful when we checked in and returned.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good group of folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I just went on 3 dive trips with DKW. Overall i was very pleased. The crew on the boat were friendly and capable. I almost always dive in the Caribbean, so I wasn't prepared for all of the safety briefings. The tanks looks brand new-not at all what in used to. While we were diving the Brandenberg-which I don't advise, they had to save a diver from another boat who was floating away on the current. It was cool to see how calm and efficient they were.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOBLESVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Outfit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We did a two-day dive package in February 2013. Check in was easy but they are very mindful of your experience level and dive history.Everyone sets up their gear and tests at the dive shop then the shop transports to the boat. Tanks are labeled with your name and every crew member calls you by name on the boat. My husband did not feel well and did not make the 2nd dive, nor did he dive the next day. The captain, Jeremy, asked how my husband was doing and called him by name. We used a guide both days. Greg and Kelly (aka Kel) were terrific. Very patient with us as newly certified divers. Dive shop has a rinse tank we were able to use and we were able to leave our gear there since we were diving aging the next day. What a help not to have to haul wet gear back home. This group is GREAT.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Key West also viewed

 

Been to Dive Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.