We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dive Shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Key West

Dive Key West
3128 N. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040
+1 800-426-0707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 326 Activities in Key West
Type: Sports Camps/ Clinics, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating our 43rd year of providing memorable dive vacations. We offer daily reef trips to the Florida Keys National Marine Sanctuary and the wrecks off of Key West including the Vandenberg. Dive Key West, Inc is a full service dive facility. Our divers will also have full guest privileges at Key West Harbour where we keep our boats. You may enjoy the restaurant, bar, gym, sauna, pool and private beach.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been certified for about three years now and thus is the third dive for me outside of the certifying shop and this shop was great. They offered are resort option that required a morning of class and pool dives, which was different than others in the key and why we went with them although we did not take advantage of it. The day of the dive we showed up and got all rental equipment for two in abut 20 minutes. The equipment was top notch. We were required to hire an instructor as a guide since I had not dove in over a year and she was very knowledgeable and informative. Despite rough sea and getting seasick the site was awesome. Saw some fantastic sea life, coral etc. Highly recommend they are truly professional and friendly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    17
    8
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location but low inventory on gear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

If you are in need of purchasing gear in a hurry, they have a very limited inventory on hand and will take 2 weeks for them to get it in. We ended up driving to Marathon to get a BC that fit since no other shops had one in stock on the island and we were on vacation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Training Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I completed my SSI Open water certification at Dive Key West. I completed the online SSI study at home course before doing my pool and open water dives with Dive Key West.

The only problem that I had was that Bob the manger didn't give me an agenda for the three day course, but otherwise I was very pleased with the service I was provided. I worked one on one with Ian Wenham. As an instructor he was very professional and very patient with me. He was also very friendly and really cared about my performance and mastery of various open water skills. He was always encouraging and excellent in explaining what I should expect in each skill or task.

Dive Key West was well run and organized and I felt safe at all times. I have seen some of the reviews that are critical of Bob the owner, but I didn't have any problems with him. I got to talk to him while he drove me to the marina and he seems like a very nice down to earth guy. I liked everyone that works for Dive Key West and they always made me feel welcomed.

I plan to continue my training and adding to my experience in diving and I plan to visit Dive Key West again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Eric and the bald headed guy are the best. They seem to take great care with safety. Some of the. Guys are a bit to casual and take short cuts (do as I say not as I do).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Boat Captain & Dive Master Great -- Dive Shop Not So Much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Like another diver who has written a review, I was in Key West the week of Hurricane Sandy. I did the Vandenberg on two dives in the morning in low vis and strong current. In the afternoon, we had a shallow coral dive and haystacks and I brought three snorklers on the combined afternoon trip. The conditions were choppy, low vis, and strong currents ... the snorklers could not snorkel. The divers got into trouble on the second dive as the current increased and the visibility decreased to 5 feet. All dive teams struggled to return to the boat, and I assisted my dive buddy. The dives were not lead by a dive master. Based on the conditions, I opted not to dive the next day since the weather forecast was the same. I requested a refund for the 2 dives for the following day; I did not request a refund for the snorklers who were unable to snorkel. The dive shop owner initially refused to give me a refund and then agreed using the words "just to get you to go away". I had prepaid for 6 dives and three snorklers ... $485.90. To date, no refund has appeared on my credit card, so so far it has been just lip service. While it was refreshing to read in another review that the dive shop cancelled a dive the same-day for weather conditions, it is alarming that they didn't consider the needs of the snorklers on the snorkel/dive trip and that they don't value an experienced diver's concern for the conditions...especially after needing to use my PADI Rescue Diver skills on the 2nd dive to assist my buddy. I suppose after a week of not diving because of Hurricane Sandy, they were really anxious for the income, but that is no excuse. And my lesson learned -- don't prepay for dives ... it only benefits the dive shop.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dive Key West also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dive Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.