We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Anniversary Camping on a Budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boyd's Key West Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd's Key West Campground
Save
You added Boyd's Key West Campground to your Saves list
6401 Maloney Ave, Key West, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
North Port, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Key West Anniversary Camping on a Budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Boyd's Campground for our 11 yr. anniversary for 4 night's. Last year we stayed in Old Town and it was nice but very expensive in the end. This year because we love the Key West atmosphere we decided to make it our annual anniversary trip because there's just so much to do. Boyd's was beautiful, the campground sites are perfect. The shower and bathroom facilities are very cleaned and well maintained as well as the rest of the area's. We tent camped and although it was hot we were comfortable because of the cross breeze especially later in the evening's it was breezy and peaceful. Security is out and about all night and made of feel more than safe. Our first couple hours we discovered that we had forgot some supplies and maintenance barrowed us a broom for our tent for the duration of our stay and the staff was more than helpful pointing us in the right direction to the local Kmart. Honestly we had no idea that there was so much going on outside of Old Town, if we did not already make plans for Sat. evening we could had very well stayed on Stock Island and been completely entertained. The Pool at Boyd's is a little Paradise, so clean, tropical and relaxing and refreshing, especially for those that don't have a/c as relief from the heat. We visited it daily. A little place to check out cause it's basically across the street and is very reasonably priced is Roostica they're pizza by far is the best I've ever had, fresh and authentic Neapolitan. Another adventure to check out is Lazy Dog Kayak/Paddle Board, it was the best experience we've had thus far in Key West. Our guide Dave was fantastic, very knowledgeable about the eco system and it's species, we plan on making kayaking a annual adventure. If you've never been definitely take the tour, but they do offer just rentals for those that want to venture out on their own and it's very economical. The next time we're in Key West we're definitely going to try out the little bar and grill next door to Lazy dog. The food looked amazing but we were hot so a couple of beers were good for us at the time. We did go into Old Town Sat. on our bikes that we brought with and it was a nice ride, we walked around and then biked back to the campground. Later we took the city bus back in the evening to walk around and take The Bone Island Pub Crawl Tour. It was great, but being in the midst of a few that had a few to many and a bachelorette party was very distracting from the guide who had tons of history and knowledge. But unfortunately had to stop, talk over and track down folks in the group. We did get some awesome pictures though and learned a lot. I think the only negative aspect of the campground is that it is a ways from Old Town and the bus stops running early so if your going out late and have to get back and didn't bike or drive or shouldn't your only alternative is a $25 Taxi ride an that's one way. Many folks may also be turned off by the obviously lower income area that the campground is in, but keep in mind that it is Key west, Florida. There are many transient's that come there because of the weather and because of tolerance, some may look a little rough, but that doesn't mean they are bad people, just be aware as you should anywhere. Right now there's a lot of road construction so if your riding bikes out and about be careful. Speaking of bikes, if you need anything fixed We Cycle which is just down from Lazy Dog is awesome, my husbands peddle fell off and he fixed it quickly for us, they were super nice as with everyone we encountered on our trip. Enjoy : )

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! We're so pleased that you were able to enjoy our campground as well as so many local activities & businesses! We're thrilled that we were able to be a part of your special anniversary getaway and we hope that we will be welcoming you back very, very soon!
Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    26
    19
    15
See reviews for
53
89
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Boyd's campground. We tent camped on the water and it was great! The whole campground was very well maintained and the people who worked there were friendly and helpful. We could not have asked for a better place to stay and look forward to camping there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your five star review! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you back!!

Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

we tent camped arrived at like 100 am security checked us in took us to our site all staff was great restrooms are clean showers where always clean some site are smaller then others but over all its a great place to stay i will return

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Charles,

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope it is the first of many. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Hurry back!

Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived at Boyd's about 10:30 p.m. and were greeted by 24-hour security personnel. They were very pleasant, checked us in and escorted us to our camp site and offered their assistance. During our stay, we interacted with several employees and all were friendly, courteous and helpful. The campground is very well maintained with well-placed nice bath houses and ample garbage disposal cans. The sites could be a bit wider now that most people are in large rigs with slide outs. We stayed here several years ago and would recommend it to anyone looking for a campsite close to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our campground. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your visit! We hope that we will be welcoming you back very, very soon!

Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We found this campground to be meticulously maintained with lovely amenities. The on-site employees were attentive, helpful and cheerful. The location is about as good as you can get for RV camping in Key West, but still well outside the main hub of vacation/sightseeing activities for Key West. The city bus does right outside the campground, is affordable at $8 for a 7 day pass, and worked well for us (about a 40 minute trip to old town Key West depending on where you are heading.) Downsides - it was a bit pricey (but not crazy out of line for the location and amenities, though having to pay an additional $20 per night for our two college aged sons -$10 per adult after the first two - almost kept me from choosing to stay here) and despite advertising wireless internet available at the campsites, we had no internet access. We were able to access the internet at the office/pool area but for the price I would expect internet access at each site. All the other commercial sites we camped at in the Florida Keys delivered excellent internet access to our campsite. The staff was very apologetic and they indicated that they were about to undergo an internet equipment upgrade. Also, we did experience some of the foul odor some of the other reviews mentioned, but it seemed to be nothing more than the kind of natural decomposition associated with many marine settings.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our campground. We're delighted to hear that our staff was helpful and attentive and that you enjoyed our amenities. We apologize for the inconvenience of poor Wi-Fi service. We know that many of our campers have not been pleased with this service. Our guests' satisfaction is extremely important to us and we have just installed all new state-of-the-art Wi-Fi equipment with a new service provider. We are confident we will now be able to provide the level of Wi-Fi service our campers expect and deserve. Thank you again for your review and we hope we will be seeing you again at Boyd's very soon.

Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We just returned from Boyd's after spending a week camping in our pop-up in site 123 on the water. The view and the breeze made our stay so enjoyable. Our first trip to Key West so we took advantage of the bus stop being close to the campground entrance to explore Key West which is 5 miles away. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly! Both the bath house (had individual showers) and the restrooms were kept very clean, happy to be there off season can only imagine how busy the campground gets during the winter months! Yes the military jets flew over as well as commercial airlines and yes they are loud but hey this is paradise and those folks are protecting our country so what's a little noise! I will say that our only disappointment was that we didn't have a grill or fire pit in which to cook on in our site. I think it was due to size a bit small and the fact that it was right on the water so no grill. When I asked the staff they told me we were more than welcome to use the tent site grills across from us since no one was there at the time. That would be my only concern if the campground was full like it was when we left Memorial Day wknd. Thank you Boyd's for making our 25th Wedding Anniversary getaway an awesome one!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're so pleased that you chose Key West & Boyd's as the destination to celebrate the wonderful occasion of your 25 year wedding anniversary! We hope that we will be welcoming you back very, very soon!

Warm Regards,
The family & staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staff was friendly and very helpful. Very easy bus ride into town, and staff helped with bus schedules. Overall campground is very well maintained, except cable tv was not working. Had a waterfront site with a beautiful sunrise. Only negative I have is that our site was very narrow and took a couple of tries to back in to site.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoydsKW, Owner at Boyd's Key West Campground, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay at our campground! We're so pleased that you found our staff helpful and the campground well maintained. We apologize for the difficulty you had with your cable TV. We weren't aware of cable problems and have alerted our maintenance staff and they will look into any connection problems at that site. We're glad that you enjoyed the sunrise from your site, it is indeed a beautiful site to wake up to! Thank you again for your review. We hope we'll be welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
The family and staff of Boyd's Key West Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyd's Key West Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd's Key West Campground

Address: 6401 Maloney Ave, Key West, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Boyd`s Key West Campground Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyd's Key West Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.