We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A DUMP!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boyd's Key West Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boyd's Key West Campground
Save
You added Boyd's Key West Campground to your Saves list
6401 Maloney Ave, Key West, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WHAT A DUMP!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

This outdated campground has tried to reinvent itself as a Big Rig "resort" without success! They assured us that they could accommodate our 43' motorhome. Well, they can.......as long as the neighbors are around to move vehicles lining up along the NARROW roads! What a price to pay for convenience to Key West! And did I mention the planes AND Air Force jets flying overhead ALL
DAY? Obviously, we will to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    55
    20
    15
    12
See reviews for
40
71
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Boyd's Campground in Key West has great location there's no doubt, which is probably why they can be indifferent in their service approach to customers. If you're white and straight, you're likely to receive a better experience with the front desk crew which is staffed by middle-aged, bored, housewives that determine your status upon entering their lobby. It's unfortunate because the location is pretty good, though lack of any customer service makes the $100+ night per spot harder to swallow. I'll take a miss on Boyd's next time and camp somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shorewood, illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visited Boyd's Campground over the New Year's Holiday and it was packed! Which is okay if you have a good campsite. The sites are together like sardines, to say the least. The showers and toilets were very well maintained and the pool was really nice. The bus stops right in front of Boyd's and takes you into Key West which is very convenient. The only problem was it was very overcrowded and the morning crew in the store was very rude. Two older ladies just didn't have tolerence for any questions!

Room Tip: Just be prepared to be extremely close to your neighbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

From the reservation staff and clean bathrooms you won't find a more professional campground. I towed my boat behind my 40' Motorhome and was greeted by a awesome staff who helped me every step of the way to get my boat to the dock. What a treat!
The pool was inviting, internet was fast and free.
The area is tight for a large RV like mine, but they offer help to the "newbees" to navigate the campground with ease.
One of my most favorite campgrounds so far, and thats after 12 years of RV campgrounds around the county.
There is a commercial fish dock around the corner where you can get fresh shrimp and fish right off the boats! Don't miss that if you like fresh fish. Fishbusterz on Front Street.
Also dont miss Hogfish Grill for some of the best chowder and Conch Fritters!!

Room Tip: You do hear the Airport traffic on certain takeoff patterns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

Please just pass on this place. Seriously. Inept staff. Astronomical rates for your little swath of sand. Why not just stay at the Mariott for the same price and camp in the parking lot?

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Spent 5 nights here when we visited Key West for Fantasy Fest at the end of October. The facilities (laundry, pool area, baths) were clean and well kept. You are right on the water but the view itself is nothing special. The sites are small and since it was a busy time the campground was packed. We travel in a motor home so noise from neighbors was not an issue and everyone was friendly. We were met by security every night upon return which is comforting. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit rough and Duval Street is to far to bike or walk. A taxi is $25.00 each way which adds up. Office staff was accommodating if not overly friendly. Have stayed at much nicer places for the money BUT it is Key West. If you travel in a motor home you might want to check out Blue Water which is still close at MM14.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We are living temporarily in USA and always wanted to visit Key West. On the other hand we always dreamed to travel on an RV. So we decided to do both: we're rented an RV from Cruise America and drived down from Orlando to Key West for an extended weekend. We've chosen Boyd's mainly by its location, just outside of Key West. We were concerned of some bad reviews we read related to service and to overcrowded camp ground. We didn't experience any of these problems. The service was very friendly. They always provided help and information when we needed. As I've never been on a campground in US before (specially on an RV), I cannot compare with other campgrounds but I've found in Boyd's a good infrastructure. The parking places may be a little close from each other, considering the size of the RVs, but it was ok for us. The bathrooms and restrooms were simple but clean. The pool was great! For transportation we rented an electric car and as it is slow, it would take us 20-30 min to go to the old town, but this was fun. The price is a little high but I understand it is ok for the location. I would recomment Boyd's without any concern. The only suggestion I have is to replace the sticker that was requested to be fixed on the windshield by some other with an easy removal glue...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boyd's Key West Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boyd's Key West Campground

Address: 6401 Maloney Ave, Key West, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 203
Also Known As:
Boyd`s Key West Campground Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boyd's Key West Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.