We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends and Fireballs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Dogs Bar

Island Dogs Bar
505 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-6618
+1 305-509-7136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 366 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: At Island Dogs Bar, you'll find open wide doors to the breezy world, happy patrons dotting the portico, irresistible ice cold beers, refreshing tropical cocktails, one-of-a-kind martinis, local live music drifting from a cozy stage. Flip flops and tank tops encouraged. The Island Dog Bar features an impressive menu of exotic hot dogs, authentic Boston pub pizza, and top notch bar favorites specially created by Iron Chef protégé Patrick Dunn. Don't forget to join our new rewards program. Sign up at the restaurant or online to receive a $5 gift certificate + a free meal in your birthday month!
Thorofare, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friends and Fireballs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stopped in and met up with some of our daughter's friends. Amy was tending bar. Service was prompt and pleasant and the live music added to the fun. We had a great time and Amy kept
the Fireballs coming.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Director of Marketing at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Sounds like a great time! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    110
    44
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped here during happy hour one evening. I don't remember what the deal was, I believe it was 2 for 1 Mojito's. They were good. We sat outside on the patio and people watched; which was fun. The service was slow, but that really didn't bother us at all. Food was really good and worth the wait. The overall experience was good and I would go back to Island Dogs Bar. Not far from Duval (about a block), so it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Director of Marketing at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thanks for the review. Glad you had a nice time at Island Dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Pleasant Bar Quieter Than Duval Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pleasant oudoor porch with small tables close to Duval Street craziness. Quieter option for when you tire of the myriad of sloppy drunks weaving throughout Duval and its bars. Small menu, decent food, excellent service. Maine Lobster roll with fried sweet potatoes, a particularly good choice. Good option to chill. Look for drink coupons -- buy one, one free. Usually at hotels.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMKennedy, Director of Marketing at Island Dogs Bar, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for coming! Our lobster roll is a very popular new addition to our menu! Visit us again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“relaxing and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been to this place twice and plan another visit before we leave KW. Both waiters were very friendly and food good, we love the outside tables to watch the crowds go by

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudjoe Key, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our group of four stopped in on a Sunday afternoon for cocktails and some oysters on the half shell. There were no tables outside and limited seating inside, but there were four spots together at the bar, so we occupied those. We ordered our drinks and contemplated the menu. There were three gentleman carrying on a rather loud conversation, one was seated next to us and the other two were on the opposite side of the bar. They were so loud that the four of us could not converse. In an effort to be polite, one of my companions offered to buy the gentlemen a drink if they could sit together and lower their volume a bit. They took this offensively and began a tirade that was out of proportion to the request made. Profanities were used, their volume increased considerably, at which point I asked the bartender (late 20s-mid 30s, bleachy blond, little longer than shoulder length hair) for a manager. She shook me off and said no. Then she took a piece of register tape and wrote on it "Alonzos has half price oysters". Now, I have to wonder if the owner of Island Dog knows his bartenders defend poor behavior and recommend other dining establishments to his potential customers?? We had already received our drinks, so continued to finish these. The gentlemen could not seem to get over the intial request and continued to comment on what a stupid request it had been, and that we should take our business elsewhere, in an apparent attempt to indimidate us. After we calmly and quietly finished out drinks, we paid our tab and left. Not to be outdone, two of the three gentleman followed us outside to continue taunting us, we just walked away. This was such a ridiculous experience- these were grown men, not college aged boys.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Dogs Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Dogs Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Dogs Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.