We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #9 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hot day in August, No A/C. Beautiful grounds. Tour guide didn't hold my attention. Cute Cats. Overall a nice place though.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Being from Florida you know how we pay the price in August and September for the beautiful weather we have the rest of the year. We are investigating the possibility of air conditioning and running the concept through the proper historical review authorities.

Sorry to hear that you tour guide did not hold your attention. We do aim to provide a world-class tour experience. We will contact you separately to ask for some details so we may correct any deficiencies with our staff.

The grounds and gardens are very well maintained by our two talented gardeners, Dustin and Garret. They can be seen working on the property daily always trimming and planting new vegetation. Guests are frequently delighted with information about the plants and trees as Dustin and Garret answer our guests questions about our tropical foliage.

We have a beautiful garden slide show on our website that is worth checking out.

Great to see our fellow Floridians out exploring the wonderful cities in this fantastic state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,016
    1,725
    436
    73
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Neat place to visit at the right time!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The house was very interesting to see to include the cats roaming around. The outside areas were really nice to explore. The tour group size was way too large to hear all of the stories so that was frustrating. No a/c, so visiting on a warmer day with a bunch of people cramed together was not fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed seeing house and visiting with the cats. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your guided tour. Our goal is to provide a world-class tour experience that is educational and enjoyable. We will contact you separately to ask for more details of you tour experience so we may correct any deficiencies our staff may have in their tour guidelines.

Glad you found the outside areas nice to explore. Our gardeners, Dustin and Garret do a fine job in maintaining the beautiful acre of tropical foliage. They are always happy to answer questions about the botanical garden too.

We are investigating the possibility of adding air conditioning and running the concept through the proper historical review authorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“a definite visit when in key west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

this is a historic site to see especially knowing how famous ernest was and is. a little overpriced for this kind of attraction but again it gives you some insight on how ernest lived in key west

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent 4-star review!!!

We are glad you seeing the historic site that was home to Ernest Hemingway in the 1930's.

Our admission fee is about average in comparison to other Key West attractions. Since we receive no federal, state or local funding, the admission fees are what maintains the 163 year old mansion, its one-acre of gardens, the 55 cats and staff to operate the 365 day a year attraction.

Being from New Jersey you might want to check out Hemingway's Cafe at Seaside Heights, about a block in from the boardwalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A have to go to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

OUr tour guide was fantastic and you could tell loved her job. I have been her five times in my 46 years and still find it to be worthwhile. My kids enjoy it - probably for the cats - and my husband who hates tours enjoyed it. Worth the time to visit

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much Susan for your excellent 4-star review!!!

We are happy to hear that your tour guide, Mary, was fantastic. Great to hear that the whole family enjoyed their visit here. The kids are always delighted with the cats, good family entertainment.

We have always been impressed with your state of South Carolina, they have a city named Hemingway! Great to have that connection with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Definitely worth a short visit and entrance price is reasonable too. Interesting to learn about this man and the pool his wife built while he was away on his travels. Also get to see his study where he wrote many a novel!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much Emma for your excellent 4-star review!!!

We are glad you enjoyed your visit here to the Hemingway Home. Glad you enjoyed seeing the pool and Ernest's writing studio too.

Being from the United Kingdom you might know that Hemingway met his wife Mary when she was working for Time magazine in London. It is great to have that connection with the U.K. through Hemingway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.