We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun...cats are highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Corner of Whitehead and Olivia Streets, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1136
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #8 of 83 Attractions in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Historic sites, History museums, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun...cats are highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Kids love the cats and the grounds. Great place a must do if going to key west. Bbbbbbbbbbbbhnbghhhhhhh

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
THANK YOU very much Jupiter, Florida for your 5-star review!!! Glad the kids had a great time here with the cats and roaming the gardens. Great to see our fellow Floridians traveling Florida and showing their kids what this state has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,436
    1,922
    489
    82
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
verticalchaos
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great guides and adorable cats!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a fantastic visit to the Hemingway home. Our guide was great - a true story teller! And the six-toed (and non-six-toed) cats which have free roam are adorable!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
THANK YOU very much for your 5-star review!!! We are glad you enjoyed the tour guide, the guided tour and the cats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Did the Ernest Hemingway Home tour. It was really neat to walk through the house and my daughter had just finished the book, The Old Man and the Sea. Very neat home and I enjoyed walking through but the entry fee was a bit too high for what you did. It was $13 per person and I think maybe around $8-$10 would be much better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for the review. By comparison to Harry S. Truman Little White House Museum at $16, Mel Fisher Maritime Museum at $12.50, Conch Tour Train at $30 and a snorkel trip starting at $40 our $13 admission is with the median to lower end of admission rates charged by other attractions in Key West.
If you visit our web site and look under "The Home" and then under "Repairs" you will see where the money goes in the major projects that we have done over the recent years to keep the 160 year old mansion in shape. In fact, we are currently working on the painting of the interior of the home starting with bringing all the door and window moldings and casings down to bare wood, filling in decayed areas and priming and painting back to their original colors, during July 2013 we are repairing the deteriorating stones in the lower porch walkway and adding 3-additional restroom facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Like cats?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Interesting six toes on the cats. The house and grounds are very historical and informative. Does have a lot of stairs which make it hard for disabled.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please note that we are ADA compliant and we do offer a video presentation for handicapped guests to watch that covers the tour's information of the second floor and the Hemingway life story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“A must-see while in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I didn't know a great deal about Ernest Hemingway before touring his home and museum, however, that didn't detract one bit from the experience of the tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, even though she had only been working there a few months. The home is beautiful, as are the legendary six-toed cats. We learned so much interesting (and sometimes amusing) information about Ernest Hemingway, his four wives, and the time he spent in Key West. After you finish your tour, be sure to stop by Ernest's old haunt, Sloppy Joes :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
THANK YOU very much Salisbury, Pennsylvania for your 5-star review!!! We are glad you enjoyed the tour and will pass along your comments to Jen, the tour guide. Glad you gained a wealth of information and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.