We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemingway House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
305 294 1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Gastonia, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hemingway House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a great trip while visiting in Key West with lots of history & artifacts from Ernest Hemingway. We really enjoyed the tour of the home & grounds & encourage others to make this a stop during your next trip to Key West. You will not be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! Glad you stopped in and hope to see you again. Please check out our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,420
    1,414
    380
    61
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely house and gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A must see for Hemmingway enthusiasts. Quintessential Key West. Real treat for cat lovers as well. Great old photos and plenty of references to Hemmingway stories that were made into movies.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you Captain for your 5-star review! We are glad you stopped in and visited. Hope you enjoyed the wonderful weather before returning to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Definitely worth it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We almost passed this up, not a huge Hemingway fan, we had heard about the cats. So we went, we realy enjoyed it. Our guide, wish I had gotten his name, was so informative and funny. Well worth it, it's not just for Hemingway fans.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review. Glad to see fellow Floridians enjoying this wonderful state.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved the history. A great tour guide and the cats were all so sweet and friendly.
His private writing room was very interesting.To have writen all of those amazing books in such a tropical setting is wonderful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you visited and enjoyed your time here. I'm sure, being from Canada, you must have really enjoyed the weather in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Key West so you have to go, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

.....it's rather boring and a tad overpriced at 13 bucks. Nice to walk around and see the house and cats etc. You can not visit Key West and not go here I think, just because it's Ernest! But in general: not impressive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondDaveKeyWest, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum to your Saves list