We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour given by Stan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
(305)294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour given by Stan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great tour given by Stan. Very knowledgeable and personable. Six toed cats everywhere. Worth the $13 admission ticket.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We will certainly let Stan know that he is doing an excellent job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,479
    2,442
    644
    96
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kitties amid history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There was not a large crowd the Tuesday afternoon we visited. Our guide was excellent and we enjoyed seeing the 6-toed cats and learning more about Hemingway. It was fascinating!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you visited and enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

You pay the same with or without a "guided tour" through the house, so go ahead and take the guided tour, then walk around the grounds and check it all out yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the guided tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family of 4 chose to tour this home on our own since the guide wasn't available for 30 minutes. The property is lush and extensive. The grounds include the writer's cottage as well as a kitty-cat cemetery.

The home is lovely though clearly in need of some TLC. The walls, mouldings & flooring could all use a thorough cleaning & painting. Each room has a minimal amount of period furniture however, of more interest are the books and various letters that Hemingway
saved.
The grounds are home to the vast number of Hemingway cats which are loose and meandering about. Though interesting this tour could really benefit from some updating as well as modernization.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you form your review. We are a little confused about your 30 minute wait for a tour since we conduct tours every 15 minutes or less from 9-5. Could you please send us details of why you encountered a 30 minute wait?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise in Key West. Always something one should see was transformed into a truly pleasurable experience by a charming house, beautiful gardens, famous 6 toed cats and a great tour that brought the trials and tribulations of this famous man to life.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.