We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitties amid history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #9 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Kitties amid history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

There was not a large crowd the Tuesday afternoon we visited. Our guide was excellent and we enjoyed seeing the 6-toed cats and learning more about Hemingway. It was fascinating!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you visited and enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,003
    1,717
    436
    73
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

You pay the same with or without a "guided tour" through the house, so go ahead and take the guided tour, then walk around the grounds and check it all out yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the guided tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family of 4 chose to tour this home on our own since the guide wasn't available for 30 minutes. The property is lush and extensive. The grounds include the writer's cottage as well as a kitty-cat cemetery.

The home is lovely though clearly in need of some TLC. The walls, mouldings & flooring could all use a thorough cleaning & painting. Each room has a minimal amount of period furniture however, of more interest are the books and various letters that Hemingway
saved.
The grounds are home to the vast number of Hemingway cats which are loose and meandering about. Though interesting this tour could really benefit from some updating as well as modernization.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you form your review. We are a little confused about your 30 minute wait for a tour since we conduct tours every 15 minutes or less from 9-5. Could you please send us details of why you encountered a 30 minute wait?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise in Key West. Always something one should see was transformed into a truly pleasurable experience by a charming house, beautiful gardens, famous 6 toed cats and a great tour that brought the trials and tribulations of this famous man to life.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love the cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If I lived in Key West this is where I'd like to be. The house and gardens were beautiful. There are 45 polydactyl cats lounging around the property. It was a hidden paradise, although a bit crowded. We preferred a self tour, and avoided the big groups to get better views of the rooms and grounds.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the cats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.