We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
(305)294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 145 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

You pay the same with or without a "guided tour" through the house, so go ahead and take the guided tour, then walk around the grounds and check it all out yourself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed the guided tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,444
    2,429
    640
    96
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in need of some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our family of 4 chose to tour this home on our own since the guide wasn't available for 30 minutes. The property is lush and extensive. The grounds include the writer's cottage as well as a kitty-cat cemetery.

The home is lovely though clearly in need of some TLC. The walls, mouldings & flooring could all use a thorough cleaning & painting. Each room has a minimal amount of period furniture however, of more interest are the books and various letters that Hemingway
saved.
The grounds are home to the vast number of Hemingway cats which are loose and meandering about. Though interesting this tour could really benefit from some updating as well as modernization.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you form your review. We are a little confused about your 30 minute wait for a tour since we conduct tours every 15 minutes or less from 9-5. Could you please send us details of why you encountered a 30 minute wait?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was a pleasant surprise in Key West. Always something one should see was transformed into a truly pleasurable experience by a charming house, beautiful gardens, famous 6 toed cats and a great tour that brought the trials and tribulations of this famous man to life.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Love the cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If I lived in Key West this is where I'd like to be. The house and gardens were beautiful. There are 45 polydactyl cats lounging around the property. It was a hidden paradise, although a bit crowded. We preferred a self tour, and avoided the big groups to get better views of the rooms and grounds.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and the cats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A must see when visiting Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The historic Hemingway House was a very interesting place to visit for an afternoon; as a bonus we were able to enjoy a small picnic lunch in the area by the pool before touring the home.

Even though each of the 6 or 8 tour-guide seem to have a slightly different story about the Hemingway family's life while living in the house it was still quite enjoyable and did not take anything away from this gorgeous home, grounds or their place in Key west history even before Ernest Hemingway purchased the property.

We loved seeing all the multi-toed cats wandering around or sleeping on the furniture completely at easy with all the people touring the house & grounds; rumor has it there are 45 living on the property these days.

You should make time to visit this landmark when in Key West!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your 5-star review! We are glad you enjoyed your meal by the pool and the tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.