We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the guided tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
(305)294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Do the guided tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We've been twice, the first time we didn't do the guided tour, but the second time we did. Our guide Stan was interesting and knowledgable. We spent some time after the tour walking around the beautiful grounds, which I would recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Guest Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review! We will certainly pass along your comments to Stan, he is one of our better tour guides and we are proud to have him on our staff. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,475
    2,442
    644
    96
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you have never been to the Hemmingway house, make time for it on your trip to Key West. The tour last about 30 minutes and the guide provides lots of interesting details about the house and Hemmingway. You will learn a lot about him and other artists of the day. He led an interesting and unique life that is reflected in his books. Even if you haven't ready any books by Hemmingway, you will get a lot out of this tour. Plus the decendent of his 6-toed cat are everywhere and very friendly!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Guest Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad to see fellow Floridians exploring their wonderful state. We are glad you enjoyed your visit here and hopefully we aill see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Glad We Went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The guide was extremely well versed on the era and shared tidbits of information that enhanced the visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Guest Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad that you visited and enjoyed the tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Key West attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Visited here Dec 3, 2012. Had a great tour guide - Tyler. Young guy, very funny. Made the tour really interesting. I had to laugh that the guests are not allowed to sit on the furniture, but the cats were lounging all over them. Recommend this tour, especially for literary types, but the stories of Hemingway, his wives and the estate are very entertaining.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Guest Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We will pass along your comments to Tyler, he is energetic and does a great tour. Please visit us again anytime at HemingwayHome.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Recommend the guided tour. Interesting tidbits about Hemingway and his life in Key West. If you don't like cats I would not recommend, as there are ~45 cats on the property.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Guest Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.