We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 years later” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead Street, Key West, FL 33040
(305)294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #4 of 144 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“60 years later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I was amazed to see all the decendants of his 6 toed cats- the home is beautiful and full of history dating back to when he and his wife lived there

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. Yes, it is amazing that 60 years after his death and 80 years after he lived here the legend goes on. I see you are from Toronto, you probably know that Hemingway wrote for the Toronto Sun newspaper. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,461
    2,437
    643
    96
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“I loved the cats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Best museam I have ever been to and I am only 15! I loved the cats so much they were all super friendly and it added an element of fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you Hailey for your excellent review. We are so happy that someone that's 15 years old finds this to be the best museum they have ever been to. Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see if you are in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The tour guides have many stories that makes the tour interesting and fun, the grounds are lovely and everyone loves the cats.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review. We are glad that you took the tour, it does make a difference. Please visit us again anytime at HemingwayHome.com. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Just okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Interesting. Not as much there as I was expecting. Tickets are a good value only if combined in a package with other attractions. My son enjoyed all the Hemingway cats though

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your review. I hope you had time to take the tour, it does make a difference in what you will learn about Hemingway's time in Key West. We are glad that your son had a good time with the cats. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth the time and the small charge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you like history you will love to hear about this man and walk through his house. After the tour inside you can walk around the grounds outside. A place not to miss if your in Key West.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Looks like you ate at some fantastic restaurants too. The Blue Heaven restaurant is the site that Pauline Hemingway had Ernest's boxing ring moved to, so we have that connection with them. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.