We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds, great history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
305 294 1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds, great history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The home is very nice, the grounds are just beautiful. Hemingway's story and the cats are really interesting. We always pick up a new book at the book store on the grounds, and learn something new each time we visit. Take the guided tour and then walk around on your own. The guide was great - funny and full of interesting stories and information about Hemingway and the grounds.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad to see fellow Floridians exploring their state. We do appreciate your continued visits and hope you enjoy your book from our book store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,469
    1,433
    388
    63
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved all the history and anecdotes. Really loved all of the cats in honour of Hemingway's love of cats.One of the highlights of our trip to Key West...a must-see!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review.Glad you enjoyed the tour. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Key West must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I must admit I knew hardly anything about Ernest Hemingway prior to taking the tour, but after visiting I can honestly say I now have some very interesting knowledge about his life/lifestyle. My husband and I were both drawn into taking the tour because of the kitties that live on the property (45 to be exact). We are both cat lovers and having owned a polydactyl cat (named Fingers) as child, I couldn’t resist but taking the tour. Well besides the sleepy kitties, the very well maintained grounds, and the beautiful furniture this was overall a wonderful tour. So, if you are in Key West and don’t know whether or not to take the tour… I highly suggest you do!

Our tour guide, Stan not only gave us really good information on Ernest, but also made us laugh with his humor! Thanks, Stan for a great tour :)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! It is always refreshing to hear someone who enjoys life and all that it offers. Our goal is to provide enjoyment, education and photo opportunities to take home and reminisce about the experience here during their visit. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok House, nice cats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had always planned to look round Hemingway's house and see the cats. Well there were a lot of interesting cats lazing in the lovely gardens round the house. The house was a typical old Key West house and the information on Hemingway was interesting. But whilst it was ok it didn't grab us and we felt a bit short-changed for the price.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thanks for your review. We would like to point out the fact that this house is like no other house in Key West. Most all Key West houses are made from Dade County Pine (wood). This house was made from solid Limestone Rock excavated from the premises itself and has wrought iron railings from New Orleans, not the wooden railings and trim that most other Key West houses have. The guided tours do make a difference in the experience and information you will take with you from your visit. And, as we have pointed out in other reviews, Hemingway's parents home, his childhood home, in Oak Park, IL that was a museum that was open to the public could not maintain it's public accessability due to inadequate financial support . It sold to a private party last year and is no longer open to the public. The private party ownership of this museum, rather than live in it as their private residence, is determined to keep it available to the public and a memorial to Hemingway. The admission fee is to maintain the 160 year old mansion and it's corresponding buildings, a staff of 20, care for 44 cats and upkeep of the 1-acre grounds and gardens. I should mention that we have been told repeatedly that other locations advertising themselves as Botanical Gardens don't compare to our presentation of foliage. Thanks for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little history that you can just picture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had walked by Hemingway House a couple of times and finally made a decision on a hot day to stop and see what was there. I happen to like history and hearing the stories of someones life. While Hemingway was a larger than life man, his home in KW isnt for everyone. I love the tour around the house grounds and they stories they told they were so vibrant I almost expected to see him stubbling drunk through the yard. Yes there are cats with their six toes, but for parents to drag their kids here might not be the best idea. I could see how some kids might get bored easily.....Sorry but I have to be honest.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for the review. We do appreciate your comments and glad that you decided to visit the museum. As evidenced on many other reviews parents with children have raved about the delight their children have had on the property with the polydactyl cats and 1-acre of grounds and gardens for children to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum to your Saves list