We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Man and His Mansion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #10 of 94 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
virginia beach, va
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“The Man and His Mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

You know, you just wouldn't think that this would be a very exciting attraction. And, it wasn't.. exciting, that is. What is was, was very interesting. We saw a lot of people come in and just start touring on their own - don't do that. You will miss the best part if you do. The tour is included in the admission fee and the knowledge and wry wit of the docents is what makes the house come alive. Our guide was Steve - he was terrific!

For starters, you get to explore a period home - a colonial southern mansion, circa 1851. It's a treat just to admire the verandahs, floor to ceiling windows, butler's pantry, first inside bathroom in Key West (added later, of course). The house is stocked with items Hemingway brought home from his travels in Africa, Europe and Cuba. But the story of the man is even more interesting and your guides know all about him - who he was with and when, why he told this story and why he wrote that story, how he found his way home from Sloppy Joe's at night, what the real truths are about the cistern and the expensive swimming pool. Pretty fascinating. And, then there's the Carriage House with Heminway's writing loft. Just wow -

As interesting as all of that is, it's the gardens that truly drew me. Wandering paths take you past traveler's palms, bougainvillea, agave, hedychium and more. It is a tropical paradise and it's filled with --- cats. Everywhere. They say there are 45-50 there now (many more in the private cat cemetary where Eva Gabor and Tyrone Power - the cats - rest) and that they are all descended from Snowball - his sons' six-toed cat. They certainly live a life of luxury today! They are on the master bed, on the display cases, on the chairs - you name it!

This is one of those 'glad I did it' but don't need to do it again locations. I completely enjoyed the guided tour and highly recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We will certainly pass along your comments to Steve, your tour guide that day. Please visit us again anytime at HemingwayHome.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,174
    1,798
    458
    77
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I didn't expect to enjoy the tour as I knew very little about Hemingway before my visit, but what a pleasant surprise. The guides on the tour of the house were really entertaining and they squeezed a lot of information into the short tour. I'm glad I had the opportunity to do this and would recommend that you take some time out to visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the excellent review. We are happy that you were surprized and impressed by the tour. Glad you visited with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Six toed cats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This beautiful home is worth visiting. The tour is informative, staff was friendly, and the cats are interesting to see. If you are interested, it is a nice way to spend time learning more about Hemingway.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and the cats. I see you also reviewed Blue Heaven, that is the site where Pauline moved Hemingway's boxing ring to, so we have that connection with them. Thanks again for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

a bit pricey but very cool place to check out. Loved all the polydactyl cats roaming about as well. We just roamed about ourselves and did not take the tour but clearly what we we overheard was interesting

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review. Next time you are here please do take the tour. You can visit us anytime at Hemingwayhome.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The cats were charming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The house was small, the grounds were larger and pretty, but the real attraction was the cats! There were cats everywhere we looked, and my family loves,loves, loves cats. When I sat down on one of the strategically-placed wrought-iron garden chairs, one affectionate cat jumped onto my lap and cuddled for 15 minutes! It was the highlight of the house.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your time here visiting with the cats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.