We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum

Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
907 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #9 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ernest Hemingway lived and wrote in this for ten years. During that time he wrote seventy percent of his life-time works. Today we operate as a museum providing guided tours every fifteen minutes from nine to five. The Museum is available for weddings and corporate events. Visit this National Historic Landmark, Literary Landmark and recognized by the Library of Congress for it's importance in U.S. History. Grand Architecture, Lush Gardens, Educational Tours, Book Store/Gift Shop and the world famous Poly dactyl (six-toed cats).
Temperance, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am really not into history, but my wife is, so I got roped into going to the Hemingway House. At first I was dreading it, but once inside on the tour I found the experience to be rather interesting and educational. The tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining. It was also the first time that I had ever seen a 6 toe cat! The home and gardens are really something to see. We probably spent 1 1/2 hours just in the gardens. In the back of the property by the pool is a small gift shop where you can purchase trinkets to any any of the books Hemingway wrote. Even is you're not a history buff, go to the Hemingway House.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,979
    1,709
    435
    73
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SE USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Did the tour, enjoyed the property!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We did the tour and enjoyed the stories the house and the grounds. This is a nice property with cool stuff to look at. Great old house, plants, and history!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for the review, we are happy that you did the tour and liked the gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved the 6 Toed Cats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Interstng history

The 6 toed cats stole the show, They would wonder into and out of the tours at will,

Great time

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed visiting with the cats.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Entertaining tour and fabulous cats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The studio where Hemingway worked is left exactly as it was so it feels authentic. Part of the charm of visiting is interacting with the polydactyl cats who roam the premises, descendants of his original pets. The gardener happened to be trimming the banana trees the day we visited and shared some of the fruit with us, as well as information about the grounds. Go early to avoid the large cruise ship crowds later in the morning.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. Glad you got a couple of bananas from Dustin, he is proud of the gardens. I'll be up in DC in January and always enjoy your museums. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hemingway house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Cats!! Some guides were better than others, but really enjoyed!
Watch having a stroller as it is a little hard to navigate the grounds with.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HemingwayHome, Public Relations Manager at Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.