We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort East Martello Museum

Fort East Martello Museum
3501 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
305-296-3913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Selden, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Past by this museum while biking down A1A along water. Interesting building and history. Didn't get to go inside so can't speak to what's inside.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    67
    22
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very cool night tours- Robert the doll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Robert the doll lives here it is an awesome place with alot of cool spooky stuff, my mom and I loved it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“OK For Historical View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A self-guided tour of a civil war era fort with other exhibits inside including "Robert" the doll highlighted on the ghost tour. A good way to spend an extra hour on the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Went at night on a tour...alone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I went on the Ghosts & Gravestones Tour which took us to the Martello...at night, by ourselves. We had such a spooky great time. It was cool to finally meet Robert after hearing so much about him. We took tons of pics of "orbs" in the main yard. It is very well kept up and the displays are pretty cool. Be prepared to be a little creeped out and leave the little ones at home if you go at night

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Must See - History & Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Drove from "Old Town" to East Martello to find FREE parking. The facility is filled with works of various artists. Mario Sanchez is fantastic. The fort has a history of it's own. Many varied displays of life of another Key West age will fill out your tour. Do use the Tower stairs to see a lovely view. Do not miss Robert the Doll - my wife deposited a "wish coin" with Robert wishing the
Baltimore Ravens go to the Super Bowl. Guess what! You know the answer. Many neat items in the gift shop. Take your time & enjoy.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort East Martello Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fort East Martello Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort East Martello Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.