We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit Back in Time with an Interesting History Lesson, Too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry S Truman Little White House

Harry S Truman Little White House
111 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
305 294 9911
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Key West Bike Tour
Ranked #6 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Historic Sites, Museums, History Museums, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As Florida’s only presidential museum, the Harry S. Truman Little White House was the winter White House for this country's 33rd president. Truman spent 175 days during 13 vacations in the home that is filled with original furnishing and memorabilia from Truman’s days. Presidents Taft, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Carter and Clinton also used the house. Guided tours offer guests a window into the world President Truman and life of a US president.
Concord, NH
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Visit Back in Time with an Interesting History Lesson, Too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The "Little White House" was quaint and interesting. There is a 10 min video telling about Harry S. Truman and how much he did for the country. The staff was very infomative. Well worth a visit. Plan on about 45 minutes.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,413
    580
    132
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“humble presidential accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

My wife and I joined the tour of Little White House that is geared towards 60+. I forget the exact cost of the tour, but there are many other historical type of activities that cost less or free that were more worth-while in our opinion. The tour include about 4 rooms of the house, a short video and some commentary of the day. The Truman Annex as a whole is a unique piece of real-estate, situated directly adjacent to Mallory Square and Duvall Street festivities.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great historical tour in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My husband and I were lucky enough to catch the last tour before the house shut down for a private event. The tour lasted about 40 minutes, and took through Truman's Little White House, which is equal parts interesting history about Truman and a great look back at America in the 1950s. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Like stepping back into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

The tour of the Little White House was one of the highlights of my visit to Key West. The history of the house and of Truman the man is really interesting (even if you're not American - I'm Canadian.) The thing that struck me most was that going into the house was not like entering a museum, but more like going back in time - you almost expected Truman to walk into the room!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ask for Bob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011 via mobile

This was a great tour. We were the last group of the day, which was perfect. Bob, the museum curator and head guide was epic. The had such knowledge and enthusiam for Truman and the House, really all history, it was a pleasure speaking with him. I highly recommend this your for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry S Truman Little White House also viewed

 

Been to Harry S Truman Little White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry S Truman Little White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.