We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm outta shape!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum

Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum
938 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
305-194-0012
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #41 of 184 things to do in Key West
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Severn, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm outta shape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's a heck of a climb, but the view is worth it. If you're afraid of heights, its not bad going up. I panicked a bit coming down. The Lighthouse Keepers Quarters were pretty interesting. Interactive exhibits and roosters abound!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    218
    71
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This attraction doesn't take a long time to complete but you do need to be able to climb a very narrow spiral staircase but there isn't a better view in Key West still attached to the ground. The Light house has parking there isn't a lot of parking around so it's a great added bonus.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Key West from on high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We always like to tour lighthouses as they usually give you a great view. This one was no different giving superb views of Key West and the area. The grounds are a nice setting and with the view gives you a feel for where the sea used to reach. Museum exhibits aren't bad either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice climb to top, very nice views from top, not much people.... But tired of Disney style gift shops with overpriced souvenirs made in China

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard NC
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I never pass up an opportunity to climb a lighthouse. There are so few available for climbing anymore. This one only has 88 steps, but steep, very narrow and of course winding. Passing others climbers coming down or going up was a challenge, but doable. I am afraid of heights, but at least go out the door. Great view of the ocean and what I could see of Key West by holding on and aiming my camera to both sides. I am so glad it is available.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum also viewed

 

Been to Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.