We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm outta shape!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum

Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum
938 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
305-295-6616
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #26 of 84 attractions in Key West
Type: Lighthouses, History Museums
Activities: Walking
Attraction Details
Severn, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm outta shape!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It's a heck of a climb, but the view is worth it. If you're afraid of heights, its not bad going up. I panicked a bit coming down. The Lighthouse Keepers Quarters were pretty interesting. Interactive exhibits and roosters abound!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    144
    49
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This attraction doesn't take a long time to complete but you do need to be able to climb a very narrow spiral staircase but there isn't a better view in Key West still attached to the ground. The Light house has parking there isn't a lot of parking around so it's a great added bonus.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Key West from on high”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We always like to tour lighthouses as they usually give you a great view. This one was no different giving superb views of Key West and the area. The grounds are a nice setting and with the view gives you a feel for where the sea used to reach. Museum exhibits aren't bad either.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hell, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very nice climb to top, very nice views from top, not much people.... But tired of Disney style gift shops with overpriced souvenirs made in China

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard NC
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I never pass up an opportunity to climb a lighthouse. There are so few available for climbing anymore. This one only has 88 steps, but steep, very narrow and of course winding. Passing others climbers coming down or going up was a challenge, but doable. I am afraid of heights, but at least go out the door. Great view of the ocean and what I could see of Key West by holding on and aiming my camera to both sides. I am so glad it is available.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum to your Saves list