We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary walk up/down, great view though” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum

Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum
938 Whitehead St, Key West, FL 33040
305-194-0012
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$30*
and up
Key West Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #24 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: Lighthouses, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Walking
Attraction details
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Scary walk up/down, great view though”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came here because we had purchased a package from the Custom House and the tickets came with it. I would not have purchased tickets to this attraction. There isn't a whole lot to see here, but the grounds are nice and there is an air-conditioned bathroom. I am not afraid of heights, but I must admit that standing at the top definitely freaked me out a little. I didn't stay up there long, but the view was excellent. Walking up and down those spiral stairs was frightening. When people walked in the opposite direction, you needed to try to move to one side to let them by. Walking down made me feel sick and dizzy. I would not recommend this to anyone who is afraid of heights or small spaces. Also, I would definitely not have been comfortable walking up if it had been busy.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    183
    61
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lighthouse is Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a great site and provides a glimpse into the past life as a Conch. The views were great and the keeper's quarters had several audio displays that really brought the family who lived there to life. I enjoyed this tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

What a view from the top. You can see the whole Island. The climb up wasn't too bad, only 88 steps. There are information cards at the top to explain some of what you are looking at. The keepers quarters offers a glimpse of what life was like on the Island 150 years ago. The grounds were very well maintained but it was difficult to get a photo of the entire lighthouse from the outside since it's practically engulfed by the trees. A must see for lighthouse enthusiasts.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatka, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Glad I made it to the top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The view is amazing! Self-guided tour, was provided with a wealth of information on the light, the lighthouse, the light keepers & their families and over all Key West history. Information was provided through displays and videos that were playing in the light keeper's house. The view lefty me speechless. I better understood how to navigate the island after visiting here! The grounds are beautiful, very shady which is greatly welcomed on a hot sunny day. The gift shop is cute with a variety of merchandise. Located conveniently across the street from Hemingway's house. Worth the admission in all respects and would return here again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“What a way to see paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

In 1825, the city built the first lighthouse closer to the ocean. But hurricanes and causalities plagued pervious lights. The one you see today has stood firmly since 1847 and this time was moved back further into town to prevent any more problems. Additional work was done though the years. Today the light stands 85 feet tall and guests can climb the 88 steps to the top. It was decommissioned in 1969 but was recommisioned in 1972 and still guides ships safely thought the waters.

Guest pay an admission fee in the lights gift shop. There are some great souvenirs for lighthouse enthusiasts. As you walk to the light, on the left, guests can see the Fresnel lens that once in Sombrero Key Lighthouse. There is also a keeper’s quarter that guests can explore. Were on a deadline so we made the quick jaunt up to the top. You can look out over this lovely margarita soaked vacation mecca. You can get a view of Hemmingway’s House from here. And cruisers make sure you have your camera since you can get a view of the ships in port.

The building is not handicapped accessible. There are restrooms in the gift shop. The light is up for consideration for the national registry and for national landmark. Guests should plan to spend no more than an hour here. The lighthouse is often part of the island tour offered by some cruise ships. It is about a 15 minute walk to the cruise ship pier.

If you are in this southern paradise, make sure you stop by!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Lighthouse and Keeper's Quarters Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.