We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Decent Price, Free Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Decent Price, Free Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Picked this place primarily due to the price and free parking. While it's a one end of Duval Street nothing is very far in Key West so that's not an issue. Free parking is great as many of the other hotels were charging $10/day. Speaking of parking, I parked the car at the hotel and never went near it again while in Key West as walked everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    560
    101
    31
    19
See reviews for
356
529
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piedmont, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The more we travel, the more we try to find hotels that offer breakfast. They are far more convenient than taking the time to search out restaurants every morning, allowing us to spend more time on the travel experience. So we chose the Hibiscus because it was well-located near the center of Key West, and it offered breakfast. The price was a little steep but we figured the convenience was worth it, and hotel prices in Key West run to the high side everywhere.

The room was comfortable enough and quite large. But it was pretty spartan and looking a little old. The room was on the second floor, which turned out to be a real inconvenience when checking in and checking out. There is no elevator so we had to haul our bags up and down the stairs when we first arrived and then again when we left. In these times, especially with the large number of seniors on the road, a second floor room without an elevator is a real drawback.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast. We don't expect gourmet meals in hotel breakfast rooms, but the offering at the Hibiscus was less than mediocre. The room was small and cramped with insufficient seating. Tables were right by the serving bar so we were constantly getting bumped by groups coming and going. The food offerings were limited and poor quality - not much more than bland baked goods and cereal.

This was our first visit to Key West. We really enjoyed it and we will be back, but we won't be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Make it a point to get a room on the ground floor - there is no elevator. So with a second floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for posting. Breakfast is the best we can do in the space we have. We do not have a restaurant license nor can we quality for one. We cannot provide hot food here but there are numerous great restaurants within steps. Continental breakfast is just a quick start which we provide for free. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We recently stayed at key west and the hotel is a good place and good location not far from Duval Street and the Trolley pick ups.

I can tell that the room had been remodeled.

it is a good budget price to stay at key west.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Location, location, location! Our second stay here, first was back in 2012, and both times we have been very happy with the hotel, its rooms and amenities. This time we were in room 226, large comfortable rooms, fridge, coffee maker and microwave, super clean and the beds are soft and comfortable. The pool is great at the hotel, and the morning breakfast that is included is well stocked with simple and standard fare, although the space available to eat is somewhat small and fills up super quick during the morning rush. The highlight of this hotel is its location, just a block off the end of Duval street, right in the middle of the best part of this great little town, and a short walk from the beaches and the southern most point in the USA. Lots of free parking for guests as well, which is always a challenge in Key West. Price is competitive for Key West, all hotels are unreasonably expensive at this time of year here, but the BW Hibiscus is definetely at the more affordable end of the scale. Very happy with our stay, and we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayed here for few nights because my usual hotel was full and I will definitely be back! I always try to stay on this side of the island since its quieter and closer to the beaches and this hotel is a great deal! I didn't go swimming but the pool area was very clean and never overly crowded. I saw quite a few guests relaxing in the hot tub enjoying some beer.. I'll make time for that on my next trip! The rooms are very large and comfortable. My room had 2 sinks, a mini fridge and a microwave which was nice. They were also clean and pretty updated. Only the shower area was slightly dated. Overall we were very happy with our stay and the price! We will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This newly updated hotel is 13 blocks from front street at the docks and 2 blocks from the southernmost point of the USA. It was quiet, the rooms were large and equipped with a microwave and small refrigerator. There was a sink in the bathroom and one in the dressing area, ideal for two people getting ready at the same time. This place even gave 8 bath towels. How cool is that?

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel worked out great for us. It's a perfect location: close enough to walk to virtually every attraction and restaurant but far enough away from Duval to be nice and quiet. The pool and courtyard area is very nice, and the rooms are huge. Loved having a refrigerator and two sinks/vanities. We wound up wanting to stay an extra night (a Friday), and they graciously charged us the weekday rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.