We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreed Good Location and Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Key West
Pelham, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Agreed Good Location and Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent last w/e in Key West at this hotel. It was just what we had hoped for. Parked our car on arrival and didn't touch it until we left. Walked to Mallory Square and without stopping it took us about 25- 30 min. Enjoyed the sunset then took a leisurely walk home stopping for dinner on Duval St. Location was great as we were easily able to explore all parts of Key West.
Our room was large ( 2 Queens) and was nicely decorated and clean. Just remember this is a Best Western! Value was excellent and it even included a small bkfst. If we return I would look at staying here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    499
    525
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
330
495
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Why do people bring children to Key West, nothing for them here. Inconsiderate parents let them play and bang on the railings whooping it up because there is NOTHING for them to do in Key West. With that being said. We have been going to Key West in Dec for several years and always enjoyed staying at the Hibiscus. 15/20 min walk to Mallory Square. Great staff pleasent and very friendly. The pool is heated nicely and kept clean. Hot tub looks good too. There is 24 hr coffee, a great continental breakfast which featured Bob Evans egg muffin sandwiches & breakfast buritos, ready to heat waffles, juice, fruit, cold cereal, bread for toasting, bagels, muffins, and yogurt singles. Would like to see them add sugar free syrup. Breakfast room is small but each room has a microwave so you can take it and heat it / eat in your room if you prefer. Non-poolview rooms are by the entrance ways which at "time for the cows to come home" can be a bit noisy as they pass by Moooooo!!! It's key west at it's best. Leave the kids with a sitter it is really not a place for young minds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for coming back year after year. There are things for kids to do here but most take parent involvement - which may be difficult if the parents don't want to be involved! We appreciate your time - see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel, known also as Hibiscus, the past two nights. Our room, on the second floor and away from the pool per our request, was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. Breakfast, as at all Best Westerns, is barely adequate, as it is mostly white-flour breads. Smoking is allowed poolside and along the corridors, which are open but still smell of smoke. However, the pool was very large and clean, staff very helpful, and as others have stated, location is perfect. We walked everywhere. I would recommend this hotel if you are not expecting luxury.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights 12/6 & 12/7. Loved being so close to Duval St. The amenities offered were fine for our tastes and hotel was very quiet and sleep peaceful. Very good restaurants are just a couple blocks away ( La-Te-Da was especially good).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Hisbiscus for three nights last week. Loved it! We're Marriott Platinum members, so generally stay at full service Marriotts - however, this was a trip with friends and the Best Western was selected. We loved it! First off, it was very reasonable - $118/night per room. Location was awesome, one block from Duval (where you want to be) all the way South, an easy walk or bike ride to anywhere you want to go. The whole hotel was spotless, maids constantly cleaning, polishing. Rooms must have been recently re-done, the floors were some kind of laminate that was perfect (no gross beach carpet). Our room had two vanities and a refreshed bathroom that was very nice. The pool and hot tub were clean and nice. They have a free continental breakfast every morning from 7-10. Everyone that worked there was pleasant. Really, there was nothing to complain about and plenty to praise!

Tips: if you go, get a bike. Yes, you can walk. You don't want to drive. But the walk can be a long walk from the Hibiscus at least. If you want to go to Mallory Square or anyplace on that end of town, it's a hike on foot. East bike ride.

Beach - don't do Ft Zachary Taylor. Beach is really rocky. Go around the corner to Higgs Beach, it's even closer and nicer!

Food- get fried grouper at Bo's Fishwagon. For God's sake, go to Kelly McGillis place for appertizers from 4-7. All drinks and apps are half price. We had six people, had nine DELICIOUS apps and a couple of rounds of drinks and the total with tip was $85. Insanely cheap (but it would have been $170 at 8 pm, so keep that in mind, kids). Yummy tacos at Amigos, but it's tiny and slow. Yummier tacos at the Bad Burrito? bad Boy Burrito? something like that, literally half a block from the hotel.

Bars - Smoking Tuna! Green Parrot! just about any place you go, just walk (bike) down the street and listen for music. Live music everywhere. And if you go to Smoking Tuna, be nice to Robert the barman, he's the best.

Sunset at Mallory Square.

Everyone we met was nice. Gay, straight, young, old, black, white - everyone peacefully co-existing. Shoot, I'm ready to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
What a great and comprehensive posting! You covered all bases and did a great job giving everyone an outline of our island. Thanks! Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Satyed two nights during my Florida trip. It's a nice little place with clean and well maintained rooms. The best thing however is the location - not far from a Duval - so you have all the attractions within walking distance. The hotel was quiet and staff were ver helpful. The price was reasonable given the location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western
Address: 1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Best Western and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.