We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property for 5 nights in December. We booked a non-smoking king bed room for the first 4 nights of our stay and a 2 queen bed room for our last night as the king room was not available. Upon our arrival, we were shown both rooms and we opted for the 2 queen bed room as it smelled fresh and clean as opposed to the king bed room which smelled musty. We were very pleased with our decision to take the 2 queen room as it was very comfortable and spacious and the 2 beds were not a hinderence. The property is well maintained and the staff are courteous and helpful. Our room was 103, adjacent to the pool. The pool is open until 12 and there was no noise problem. The room had a shower/tub combo with sink and toilet in one room. Outside the bathroom there was another sink which proved quite convienient.
The hotel is located on Simonton St and United St. There are restaurants and bars within walking distance, however it is a bit of a walk to the marina side where it is much more lively. The location of this hotel was perfect for us as we prefer the quiet. There are two beaches within walking distance as well.
The hotel pool was adequately sized with depths ranging from 3-8 ft. There were plenty of lounge chairs and there were 4 round tables with 4 or 5 chairs and an umbrella for shade at each table.
Overall this Best Western was well worth the price and we would return for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    622
    114
    35
    20
See reviews for
400
597
37
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a pleasant place to stay in Key West. Our second stay at the Hibiscus, and it's even better than the last time. Location is a block off Duval on the lower end of Key West near Southern Most Point. You have a bit of a walk up to the action end of Duval, but it's nice and quiet with a super pool and jacuzzi with lots of sunlight. Rooms are large and well maintained, and the staff is instantaneously responsive. We had a remote control on the TV which wasn't working - My wife walked up to the office to ask about it - And before she even got back to the room, someone from maintenance was knocking on the door to take care of the problem. Housekeeping staff is quick, efficient and courteous. Continental breakfast is typical, but very good, and and has a sufficient variety of offerings including some meat sandwiches and great coffee! All in all, this is simply a nice relaxing, no hassle, place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We love to hear when we are doing great but we also appreciate any comments that will help us to improve. Thanks for letting us know about your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This motel provides a good location for walking to most of Key West attractions. Front desk staff was friendly and offered suggestions/maps. Rooms are attractive but like everything in Key West priced 'high'. In-room WiFi signal was very weak, -mostly not working. Breakfast starts at 7 AM with 11 AM check-out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hibiscus was in a great, convenient location - close enough to the Duval Street action but away from it's craziness. Trolley stop just around the corner to take you down to Mallory Square area. Rooms clean and well-maintained. Some good restaurants nearby. Breakfast not the greatest, but certainly more than satisfactory. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for posting! We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights, room very clean and spacious, bathroom spotless, coffee making facilites and ice etc. Breakfast adequate (but was free) and the pool area is very nice. My only down is our room was facing a brick wall and such no natural light. Close to all attractions and FREE parking which is a huge bonus in the keys.

Room Tip: Dont take 215 its got no natural light and would be the same for several others, having siad that di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for four nights at this lovely little hotel. The rooms are large, clean, freshly painted and the hotel is very well maintained. All staff were friendly. The breakfast room is very small but eating breakfast around the pool was pleasant. This hotel is really good value for money in key West and it is easy to walk to all attractions easily from here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
When our guests are booking with us we try to explain how close we are to everything but it is always better when posted by someone that actually stayed with us. Thanks! We think our location is ideal - close yet still quiet enough to enjoy your vacation. We appreciate your comments and your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel is walking distance to many local attractions. Great customer service. Very clean, and comfortable. Room had a small fridge, microwave, two separate bathroom sinks, a very large closet, wood laminate floors, two lazy chairs with a rug underneath. I will definitely come back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you! We appreciate that you took the time to post here. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.