We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance required” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Key West
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Maintenance required”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Although the guy at the front desk was really friendly, the room was old and dirty. The bath tube blocked up after one shower. There were small insects in the whole bath room and party in the room as well. The air condition was loud and really, really old. People were sitting in the swimming and drinking canned beer. Cheap, but still not cheap enough. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
A scathing review like this really hurts but all we can say is - if you let us know there are issues while you are here we will correct them to your satisfaction. And if for some reason we cannot do that, we will help you to find accommodations more suitable to your needs. We would not expect anyone to stay in the room that is described here under any circumstance and it is hard to believe that someone actually did stay in such a room. I agree that such a place is unacceptable and personally I would have demanded to see the manager! I am truly sorry that this review was posted however it has put us on alert and we have gone through all of our rooms to be sure that the issues posted here are not going to affect our guests. As for the guests in the pool, well, chilling with a cold beer - not in a glass bottle - at the pool sounds like paradise to me! We take the good with the bad - thanks to all of our guests for posting here on Trip Advisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    562
    101
    31
    19
See reviews for
357
531
33
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We staed here in October right before the fantasy fest. We had aa second story room overlooking the pool (most roooms do look over the pool). The room is a very good size with fridge, micro, coffe maker and,i in the closet, a safe.I must commend the cleaning staff: very diligent each day. The office staff is quite helpful and friendly, always willing to provide advice and some coupns for dining. The entire propwery, although older, is well-maintained. The pool and the pool area are very clean and a pleasant area to sit and enjoy the weather and chat with other guests. I definately would stay here again.

Room Tip: all second floor rooms are great. I do not know about the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

it was the cheapest among the hotels closest to Duval street. The location is pretty good though Key West is not that big. The rooms are spacious, the beds are very comfortable. Be careful on the stairs on rainy days, it's quite easy to fall down. The dining area is very small so it was quite a problem to find the place at breakfast time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I used to stay at one of the Southernmost Point facilities nearby or a B&B, but Southernmost has become too expensive for what they are (gotta pay for all that expansion). So when I read the reviews and looked at the prices, I chose the Best Western Hibiscus. I prefer staying on the "quiet" end of Duval. O'Connell's Irish Pub is nearby on Duval, and El Siboney (best Spanish/Cuban food on the island -- no tourists) is walking distance on Catherine St.

The room (2nd floor) was spacious. I read that the room fllors are tiled, and someone else on the 2nd floor said theirs was, but my room was still carpeted. Cleaning staff was excellent (I had the same lady all three days of my stay). The pool is very large, L-shaped, 8 feet deepest, quiet in the evenings though they could stand to heat it (cold for a Floridian!). The don't mention it but the rooms (at least mine) have small safes in the closet, a big plus with camera and iPad's I didn't want to leave in the heat of the car during the daytime. Breakfast is minimal, but sufficient with bread, packaged microwave sausage sandwiches, juice, coffee and fruit. Free wi-fi access worked fine. Pretty large refrigerator, enough to stock lots of beer, wine and snacks.

Front desk staff was great. Check-in on Sunday, he wasn't sure how to apply a $75 gift card I had so he just told me nothing would be billed and to check Monday when the week staff was in. They applied it all right away that Monday morning.

The most minor complaint were very small ants but contained only to the work station table. This was room 228. This room overlooked the pool and yet was very quiet.

I will definitely stay here on my next Key West visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We needed somewhere to use as a base for our first ever visit to Key West. We chose this hotel due to its location and reviews. Its not often than the real experience surpasses expectations but on this occassion it sure did! The rooms were excellent and the aspect terrific. Whether during the day or later at night it wa a real treat to chill by the pool side. Everthing is well maintained and the continuous coffee machine is a real treat. I cannot recommnd this establishment enough - but please do not let all the credits cause you to change anything - we like it just the way it is. A perfect balance of price, location and facilities - we will certainly stay here agin on our next visit to KW. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay such a pleasant one

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
So nice to hear we are doing a good job! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western Hibiscus hotel. It is located at the Southernmost portion of Ket West Island and is convenient to everything, and is very nice. It has a nice family oriented pool, a free breakfast, and is very clean. The rooms are very large.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I went to Key West for the first time and picked this motel solely based on the name and quiet location. It was a perfect pick. The room was spacious, very clean, air conditioning worked great and it was the largest bathroom we have had yet. Had a 2nd floor room (away from pool) and it was extremely quiet. The man checking us in was pleasant and inviting and we told there was a complimentary breakfast each day. The breakfast was perfect - Bob Evans breakfast sandwiches, bagels, juice, coffee. Comfortable bed and they even provided popcorn for the microwave! The location was ideal for us - quiet part of town, a couple of blocks to Southernmost Point, and a short walk to Duval St. It was a little bit of hike to walk to Mallory Square, but definately doable. We were able to park our car when we got there, and did not touch it until we left. Nice. We are already planning our next trip back there. Key West + Hibiscus = ahhhh.

Room Tip: 2nd floor away from pool was nice and quiet. Enjoy the free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel

Address: 1313 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Duval Street and downtown Key West, then return to your cool spacious room at our Key West hotel.Located at the southernmost point of the state, visitors at our Key West hotel are here to enjoy paradise. We offer free parking, and we’re just one block away from famous Duval Street. While parking is free, most guests don’t need a car since you can walk to the area’s best attractions. The beach is three blocks away, and guests feel right at home in a quiet neighborhood that’s close to everything.From Fantasy Fest to World Offshore Powerboat Races, there’s always something exciting happening near our Key West hotel. The World Sailfish Championship is held here, and the Hemingway Days Festival is fun for the entire family. Whether you want to simply relax on the beach or are staying at our Key West hotel for a special event, our friendly staff members always strive to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Large rooms and free Wi-Fi are included. There are no resort fees here, but our Key West hotel guests certainly feel like they’re at a world-class resort. There’s a great heated pool where relaxation comes easily, and it’s the perfect place to wind down after a day of exploration and adventure. Central to all top food options, bars and attractions, most guests spend their days strolling around the neighborhoods and beaches.We welcome couples, families and solo travelers at our Key West hotel. Consider a nearby surfing lesson or spend the day on the waters fishing. Key West is known for a life of leisure, and that’s exactly what our guests experience. Whether you’re here for an extended stay or just the weekend, be treated to the best in service and top quality amenities. Book your room at BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel today and get ready for the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hibiscus Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Best Western Hibiscus Hotel
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hibiscus Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.