We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Some Noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
Devon, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Some Noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Good hotel located near the airport and across the main road from the sea. Easy to find but it is necessary to use your car to get into the centre of Key West (there is plenty of free parking at the end of Southard Street in front of the USCGC Ingham Maritime Museum). Good free breakfast including fresh fruit. Lunch snacks available but not evening meals. There are only 2 restaurants within walking distance – La Trattoria (very good) and Benihana.
Rooms of good size and standard and properly cleaned. Plenty of parking. Free Wifi is available in the bedrooms.
Although the hotel is situated close to the end of the runway we were not overly disturbed by the noise of planes however we were surprised by the amount of noise that could be heard from adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    303
    112
    41
    29
See reviews for
236
290
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would recommened anyone to stay at this hotel. The rooms are very clean and the bed is also very comfy. The noise of the planes is not really a issue. View of the ocean was beautiful from our room. The pool are was very clean and nice but the drinks at the pool were a little pricey. cannot comment on the breakfast room because we did not eat there but did peek in and it looked like they had a good variety of food and it was clean. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigourney, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room on the second floor. We had a great view of the Sunrise in the morning. There is a highway between the hotel and the ocean and the beach is actual a ways down from the Hotel, but the rooms were immaculate and the staff was helpful with booking Guided Trolley rides around the Keys and the Sunset diner cruise that we went on. The breakfast area is small and overly crowded for my taste, but you can grab your continental breakfast and take it back to your room. Trolley's and cab rides make it much easier to get around in Key West than fighting parking.The pool and hot tub areas are very nice, but crowded when we stayed.
But the rooms were spacious and clean.

Room Tip: Trolleys and Taxis are the way to travel in the Key's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is an older hotel with beautifully maintained rooms and grounds. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast room is too small for the amount of people who use it but the food is fine. A great location and super pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I'd like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Key West. Our grounds crew work diligently to ensure the property is well kept. Thank you for the kind words, i will be sharing them with the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Best piece of advice to offer is get room on 2nd floor! Walls insulated well so airplanes not an issue, but flooring/ceiling must be cheaply done and provide no sound barriers. Kept awake for hours by upstairs guests... Otherwise, friendly and helpful staff. Cab ride to old town area $17 and cabbies were friendly and helpful. Standard continental breakfast provided. Pool with bar/food service available. Nothing negative to offer other than horrible noise that comes through from 2nd floor room if occupied. Seriously, don't take a 1st floor room!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have stayed at a lot of Best Westerns all over the country because of the quality they provide. This is the best one we have ever stayed in. We had a change in our reservation because of a ferry boat cancellation to Dry Tortugas and we had to stay one night prior to our reservation. When I called, they took care of it no problem. Then, since we had been up at 6am during our vacation in order to try and catch the early boat that was cancelled, we wanted to check in early to nap. They did their best find us a room and while we waited we sat by the pool and had lunch at their bar (which was a different Best Western feature for sure) that had quite tasty food. We were able to check in at 2pm, AND we were comped for an ocean view king room, even though we had reserved a king pool view. Gorgeous view and spacious room! To top it all off, we were going to walk from the office to our room not realizing there was a parking area closer to our room, the manager on duty told us we could drive over and helped us load up our luggage back into our Jeep. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us during your recent trip to Key West and taking the time to leave your review.Your comments have been posted up for all employees to see. We take great pride in customer satisfaction and the guest experience, I am very happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I probably tend to have higher than average expectations when it comes to hotel accommodations, so that should be kept in mind when reading this review. What I did not like:
-the hotel was literally right next to the airport, although with my earplugs I was able to tune out the sound (bring earplugs!);
- the reception staff were not friendly nor helpful, at least the days we were there;
- our room had an odor of some sort, still not sure what it was, but it was unpleasant;
-there was no gym.

What I liked:
-if you are lucky enough to get a pool side room and on the second floor, you will have a screened in balcony with an ok view of the ocean (depending on where your room is situated);
-there is a nice tiki hut bar poolside (although it closes early, 7pm) so it is nice to lounge by the pool with the hut right there;
-there is a nice sidewalk right across the street that brings you along the water, so easy access to a nice walking route.

All in all, we probably would not stay at this particular hotel again, but if you are looking for a place to crash and don't plan to spend tons of time in the room - if the price is right compared to other places you check out, you would probably do fine!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor pool side with view of ocean and screened in balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.