We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of other places are better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Alberta
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A lot of other places are better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I cannot figure out why they call this a resort. There is NO restaurant on the premises, and No bar, other than the pool bar. The pool is very attractive, but the bartender Josh has no idea how to make drinks. I had the worst tasting Piña Colada I have ever had, and my wife's Margaritas were so-so.
You should realize that the hotel is adjacent to the Key West Airport, and I DO mean adjacent! Don't think about sleeping in past 8 a.m. as the planes start flying early. Look at properties on the north side of the key, or some of the quaint properties nearer the downtown core.
The room was very nice and had a balcony with a view of the pool, but for the money I would have tried somewhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    409
    173
    57
    33
See reviews for
319
413
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Creek, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay in Key West. We are not big on partying all night long and this hotel was perfect because of the location for us. We could go downtown and come back to peace and quiet when we were done for the night. We had a handicapped room and everything in the hotel was very accessible for wheelchairs. The breakfast is very good with a large selection. After reading other reviews we were worried about the airport noise but it was not a problem. The view is beautiful, the grounds are well kept and all of the employees were very helpful and pleasant. If we did not feel like driving we took the trolley that picks you up right at the front door. The maintenance crew was exceptional. One the first night our air conditioner was not cooling very well. We made a phone call the next morning and when we came back from downtown it had all been repaired. The tire went flat on our rental car and one of the grounds gentlemen offered to change it for us. This is our second trip to Key West. Last time we stayed on the other side of the island and considered staying there again. We are really glad we didn't. This was a pleasant experience and we will return.

Room Tip: If you request a handicapped room make sure and ask for one with a balcony. We didn't have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great Hotel. Everything was perfect. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Hotel to anyone traveling to key west. We didnt try the pool or fitness center but would have had we had more time. The breakfast was good as well,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The room we stayed in was overlooking the pool. We also had a view of the Atlantic Ocean. I was later corrected, it is the Florida Straights, not the Atlantic. The room was very large and well appointed. It had a large screened in balcony. I guess at times the bugs may be a problem but they weren't in January. They had coffee 24 hours a day in the lobby and the trolly stops at the hotel every 30 minutes. As an added bonus, the breakfast not only had fresh waffles but you could get hot breakfast sandwiches.

Room Tip: Be sure to buy trolly tickets and don't try to drive downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you want to stay on Duval street where all the bars are you might be disappointed , however the hotel is situated about 10 min from Duval street . There is regular transport to the entertainment area. Please note parking can be a problem in Key West. There are Alternatives , bicycles etc.
The hotel is clean and rooms are spacious . Parking is available at hotel. Breakfast was offered. Very basic but edible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Desk clerk at check in was distant, not very helpful, seemed like he didn't want to be there. We have stayed at this hotel several times over 20 years since our honeymoon was spent there, and we were treated like our business didn't really matter to him. He could care less whether we were there or not. On the other hand, the full time lady at the desk, Kate, was helpful, cheerful, in fact wonderful in every way. More of what we expected when we arrived. The initial experience made us question whether we should have stayed at the Doubletree next door, where we had backup reservations until 3 days before visit. We actually thought we cancelled the wrong ones!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.