We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed 1 night over Thanksgiving Day weekend. Made reservation, the day before, on Priceline and could not get a great deal. Arrived and the desk clerk was unfriendly, the cappuccino machine was not working for french vanilla, so I got hot chocolate, and it was good. The room was clean. I liked the mini fridge and microwave. l was thirsty later in evening and found 3 vending machines of which only one worked. Dining area for breakfast way too small for amount of people served. I wished we could have opened the windows, it was such a beautiful day. A raccoon approached my son, late at night, as he was going towards the car in the parking area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    342
    129
    47
    30
See reviews for
268
335
20
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mtl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

for the money we spent, this was a very disappointing experience. the room was so dank, wet, and smelled; of course we couldn't open the windows to air it out so had to prop open the front door and turened the fan on high for an hour before the smell dissipated. staff had no knowledge of Hemmingway House, and four times there was simply no one at the front desk. the free breakfast was basic with too much junk food. seating for the breakfast was also poor with not enough tables inside OR out to accommodate everyone coming in. bathroom is one of those deals where the sink is in the room with you, the tub/toilet in a tiny closet. our hair dryer and heat lamp were both broken. we could hear our neighbours clearly through the wall. all in all, i would recommend spending more money for a nicer place; we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We normally use Best Western hotels wherever we can, but I have to say this was one of the worst we have stayed in. We stayed here several years ago when we were in Key West, but the place seems to have deteriorated since then.

We were upgraded to a pool view with a small patio, but the room itself seemed to be desperately in need of major refurbishment. There was no carpet on the floor and the tiles were a bit gritty and cold. It was cold when we arrived in the late afternoon and we put the heating on. The unit blew smoke and dust into the room as it must not have been used for some time, and it set off the smoke alarm so we had to waft the room for it to stop. Then when the room warmed up, we put the aircon on for overnight but there was a horrible musty smell coming out of it and we had to switch it off. Everything in the room (handles, doors, etc) seemed humid and sticky to the touch and although overall it was fairly clean, there were some things which were quite nasty, like the toilet roll holder being rusty with bits of dirt encrusted inside. The breakfast room was far too small to cope with the large numbers of guests and there are only about 9 tables cramped into a very small area, all but 2 seating 2 people, so we could not get any table for the 3 of us. There was a bus in at the time and around 30 people trying to get breakfast at the same time - nightmare. The location at the end of the airport runway was not ideal either as the deafening noise of planes overhead was frightening at first and then just annoying. The only good thing about the hotel was the lovely pool area with gorgeous garden area, but this did not make up for the rooms. Out of the 14 nights we spent in Florida this was the most expensive at USD 152 per night and when we moved off we stayed in Homestead at the Best Western Gateway to the Keys which was half the price and a spotlessly clean hotel far superior to this one. We will not be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I knew I wanted a Best Western in Key West and had a struggle deciding between the two there -
one near Duval St. and the other a resort by the airport. I chose the resort by the airport and would do the same thing again. The ocean view room was beautiful and I watched the sunrise from my bed. Ample breakfast is included. The pool area is glorious.
We rode the trolley for the first two days to learn the area and then rented a car. This turned out to be an excellent plan. I took a quick look later at the downtown one and it cannot compare to this resort, plus this one will meet your plane and take you back to the airport when you leave.

Room Tip: Ask to see more than one room. The second floor ocean view is spectacular and was a true bargain in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My room was to far from main part of hotel and the road was being paved service at the cheekie bar was belo my standards the only good thing was the housekeeping ! The pool was decent although there was bird crap all over most of the chairs

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This moderately priced hotel has very nice rooms that are clean and spacious, a beautiful landscaped pool area, and views of the water. An excellent place to rest on Key West and as a base for outings into town and around the area. Our only criticism is that the room where they serve the free continental breakfast is way too small, and gets very crowded.

Room Tip: The buildings are different ages, and may have different features. You might want to ask about any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The motel is average and the staff are excellent however if you wish to experience Key west attractions and restaurants and have no car forget it unless you are prepared to pay $32 return for taxi.
After staying at other best western hotels and comparing rates this place is well over price.
Another disadvantage with this motel is the location to the airport as it is in the flight pass so one does not need an alarm clock.
The staff do provided transport to and from the airport which is good.
Would I stay here again without a car - no way - I shop around and find something closer to town I did complete a best western survey and got a response to my concerns which show good management follows up and the purpose of this is to share with you the location disadvantages .

Room Tip: If you want to party dont have a car like a sleep in and not drink and drive find accommodation in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.