We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No car think twice?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No car think twice?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The motel is average and the staff are excellent however if you wish to experience Key west attractions and restaurants and have no car forget it unless you are prepared to pay $32 return for taxi.
After staying at other best western hotels and comparing rates this place is well over price.
Another disadvantage with this motel is the location to the airport as it is in the flight pass so one does not need an alarm clock.
The staff do provided transport to and from the airport which is good.
Would I stay here again without a car - no way - I shop around and find something closer to town I did complete a best western survey and got a response to my concerns which show good management follows up and the purpose of this is to share with you the location disadvantages .

Room Tip: If you want to party dont have a car like a sleep in and not drink and drive find accommodation in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    331
    126
    46
    30
See reviews for
264
322
20
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Best Western Key Ambassador many times over the past 20 years and have to say it has never dissappointed us.
The pool is superb, the pool bar very good, cleanliness excellent.
Just one complaint would be the locals who use the pool bar daily often get very drunk and loud, but if you are the other side of the pool area, its not a problem.

Its a very good base for Key West, away from the noise ot the centre but in easy reach.
The best rooms are the sea view queen sized rooms, with balconies where you can watch the more energetic run up and down the sea path of the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

the price was right for the King ocean view room. It was very spacious and clean and came with basic amenites such as fridge, microwave and coffee maker and a nice balcony to watch the sun rise over the water. It was only an $18.00 cab ride into the heart of old town where all the bars were so saving at least $100.00 on the king room compared to some of the other inns in old town was pretty good. It also came with a free continental breakfast which was nice. My only complaint would be that the hotel happy hour was not a great deal. It was still 6$ for a drink and 5$ for a beer. not a true happy hour like some U.S. hotels put on with free appetizers and drinks. So stay in your room and drink your own alcohol and enjoy your view. Overall it was a good deal and I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: oceanview king room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed only one night. Room was clean and large. Loved the crisp, new sheets. Slept soo soundly. The pool and tiki bar were really appreciated. No restaurant close by; we were able to get a late lunch at the tiki bar. Bartender very friendly - gave us a great suggestion for dinner (Salute). Unknown to us - it was Fantasyfest week. Luckily, this hotel is not very close to Duval Street with all the crowds. With rain approaching, wanted to park bike under cover - nothing available. Fortunately, we were in same building as breakfast lounge. Felt bad for other guests who had to walk from several buildings away. Breakfast was pretty crowded - maybe 'cause nobody was in a hurry to do anything in the rain. Both computers at the front desk were down & didn't seem like there was any urgency to get them repaired. Since we rode down on a motorcycle, we were unable to bring our own computer & really were inconvenienced by the lack of computer availability - doubly so since Hurricane Sandy was approaching. All in all, would go back again - just not during fantasy week & not during hurricane season!

Room Tip: Several buildings - be sure where you want to be - near the pool or close to the breakfast lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Key Ambassador and taking the time to write your review. I apologize for the computer issues we had during your stay but fortunately they have now been resolved. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Glad we stayed, screened in balcony, pool was very nice, comp breakfast was good. I liked the location. Across street from ocean. Not far from duval st. I would stay again. Room spacious and comfortable,very clean. Front desk also very friendly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and taking the time to review your stay and share it with us. Our front desk staff take great pride in their job, and we are glad that it shows. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My recent stay at the Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn was more than pleasant. The rooms were large, equipped with refrigerator and microwave as well as the usual amenities of hairdryer, safe, toiletries. The large bathroom included a huge shower with sit down bench. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Don't forget to take advantage of the free continental breakfast in the morning and free coffee and cappuccino in the lobby.The resort is directly across the street from the Atlantic ocean and is a stop on the Sightseeing Trolly which I highly recommend. The rooms were clean and and the site was nicely landscaped. Huge pool and spa with a Tiki bar for a quick drink or relaxing conversation. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so ask for a 1st floor room. Ours was near the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel was average but clean. We were told we had poolside rooms but they were on walkup 2nd floor and v\\ieeiw was blocked by foliage (could have been worse). As seniors, we had some difficulty packing luggage up and down but otherwise the stay was pleasant and the free continental breakfast adequate. Didn't get a chance to use the pool as this was on a weekend and the pool was full of juveniles acompanied by their partying parents. Night was quiet after poolside bar closed at 9:00 PM and check in and our was efficient.

Room Tip: If you want a poolside room, make sure you specify ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn

Address: 3755 South Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the straits of Florida of the beautiful island of Key West, Fl. Our resort is only a short distance from the local beaches and just a few miles north of historic downtown. This resort offers non-smoking accommodations and many thoughful amenities. At the Best Western, Key Ambassador resort guest have a variety of views to choose from. There is a spacious outdoor heated swimming pool with 2 waterfalls next to our cheeckie hut that serves food and drink. The resort provides free Wi-Fi throughout the property, a deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary parking and 24 hour front desk services. During your stay you can easily visit many local attractions, unique shops and historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Key Ambassador Hotel Key West
Best Western Key West
Key West Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Key Ambassador Resort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.