We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Use a Touch of Wizardry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merlin Guesthouse to your Saves list
Merlin Guesthouse
811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Could Use a Touch of Wizardry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Merlin Guesthouse for one night upon arriving at Key West. We chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews and thought the price right for a less expensive place to stay to start our vacation.

The pros: the staff was very accommodating - we checked in late (about 9:30 p.m.) and fortunately, the check-in person was still on duty. She said she sent an email detailing how to get into our room after hours, but since we were in flight from Cleveland and without a laptop or smartphone, I wouldn't have gotten that message. However, a note with a phone number to a person after hours was posted. Glad I didn't need to go through that.

The room is clean and fairly comfortable, though a bit small. It's not the sort of room you'd camp out in for an extended stay, but if it's just a place to crash for the night, it's fine. The mattress was firmer than we like, and the bathroom is older and small, though very clean. I was surprised how thick the towels were.

The continental breakfast I would consider "upgraded." There is the usual bread for toasting, English muffins, a variety of muffins, yogurt, juices, and some tasty spinach/feta croissants. Coffee and tea, of course. It's served by the small Zen pool area.

The cons: We were in Room 5, which was along a long porch facing the street. It wasn't too busy when we stayed, but again, I wouldn't want to spend a long vacation in the room right on the street. There are other rooms in the back of the property that are off the street.

Parking is on a side street, if you can find it - no parking lot. That is typical in Key West, though.

The biggest "con" to me was the smell of mildew. We thought with the fan and air conditioning going, it would dissapte the smell, but it lasted throughout the night into the next day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    120
    41
    17
    10
See reviews for
27
213
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I love to try a variety of b&bs, inns, hotels, etc. This place is a combo of all three. Beautiful individual buildings with charm, great location.

Store bought, well provisioned outdoor breakfast by the pool. Only 4 tables so u still get that close chatting with your table mates feel of a b&b. Pool is small, includes jets& wasn't heated when we were there- however if u go in knowing that it is easily one of the most beautiful places for a dip or to sun!

Helpful staff, great places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

nice and cute, but bas bed for your back and no internet on the rooms adjacent to the street. For that price, there are better hotels and guesthouses. Pool is actually a spa and it's not heated. Breakfast is served in styrofoam containers, so this stay has a pretty bad footprint.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great stay at your Inn and if we ever return to Key West we will stay at one of your hotels for sure! The rooms were clean and your continental breakfast was perfect. forget perfect they were AMAZING... stuffed croissants WOW. The staff was always very helpful and kind as well. The cats are nice companions that keep you comany at the pool. you are literally 1 block from the main strip. Duval street. walking distance to to everything major. we absolutly loved this hotel and are looking fwd to spending many more new years in the keys.

Room Tip: room 19.. i think had a bedroom and an upstairs loft plus a living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I were at the Merlin Guest House for Christmas 2012.
It's a real nice place to stay, 1 block from Duval Street. We had room #20, which is on the 2nd floor. It is the only unit on the 2nd floor,very private with a great lanai. If you don't mind steps, it is a great choice.
Breakfast was a typical continental style, served in the outdoor garden by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned home from a five night stay. We loved the charm of the Merlin Guesthouse. Our room was spacious and private. Loved all the natural light! The staff was exceptionally friendly and we felt right at home. I'd stay again and would choose the same room! Great place!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite...number 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My then fiance, now husband, stayed here 4 nights this week for our wedding & honeymoon. It was wonderful! The room was super clean as were the grounds! Staff was very helpful & friendly. Our bed was super comfy. All around wonderful stay!!! I loved the hammock!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guesthouse

Address: 811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection located in the Old Town section of Key West. This guesthouse offers a range of prices and room amenities. Simple rooms offer an excellent price and queen-size, four-poster beds. King Suites offer extra comfort and romance. Cottage units offer a variety of layouts that are comfortable for families or friends. Just one block from Duval Street, you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Come and stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Merlin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.