We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Merlin Guesthouse to your Saves list
Merlin Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned home from a five night stay. We loved the charm of the Merlin Guesthouse. Our room was spacious and private. Loved all the natural light! The staff was exceptionally friendly and we felt right at home. I'd stay again and would choose the same room! Great place!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite...number 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    136
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
32
258
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My then fiance, now husband, stayed here 4 nights this week for our wedding & honeymoon. It was wonderful! The room was super clean as were the grounds! Staff was very helpful & friendly. Our bed was super comfy. All around wonderful stay!!! I loved the hammock!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived after 9pm with no reservation. the man at the front desk gave us a discounted price.
parking is close... was hard to find because of the one way streets. but u can see the area.

we like the hotel alot and stayed 3 nights. charming small rooms. old rustic floors. cute place.
there is even a cat at the hotel... who will hang aroung and be your friend until more guests arrive

the pool is nice, the staff goes home around 10pm. your not supposed to use the pool... but if you are quiet nobody will notice. after walking in the heat of duval street its very nice to swim.

the sunlight comes in the room in the morning. which is kindof a nice wakeup.

in the morning they were doing some repairs on the roof of our room... but after a dirty look from my girlfriend they stopped. everyone was just really nice and polite. great locals here.
met another couple at the hotel. everyone in the keys is in a great mood and happy to be there!
oh, and alot of people in key west have been drinking... alot.... in the sun..... forever

Room Tip: try to get a room in the back. the rooms on the street look loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 19 excellent very clean rooms nice people. Good breakfast. They had a cat named Jordan very friendly. The other guests were very friendly. I would stay here again. I would give them a A+++++++

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is just so perfect ! The breakfast was great, the people here are so so very kind! I will come here again anyday ! Rooms were clean and a safe place to stay ! This is just key west ! We felt the old spirit of the island here. Do stay !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Merlin the first couple days of Fantasy Fest. Even though we were only 1 block away from Duval Street you could not hear any of the activities. The Merlin Guesthouse is a small retreat in the middle of Key West (known as a party island). :)
We had a King Suite right on the edge of the property (next to an alley) and you would never have known it. Quiet and spacious. It was the perfect end to our vacation.
I would definitely stay at the Merlin again. Next time I hope it will be more than 2 days.
Jordan Del Gato is now my friend on facebook. He is awesome. So friendly.
Looking forward to my next trip to Key West & The Merlin Guesthouse.

Room Tip: The King Suites are awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in unit 22 which is in the back of the property and a King suite. It was just perfect inside. HUGE room with a big bathroom and a hallway sort of area with a sink and refrigerator and microwave. There is a safe in the cabinet as well. Very classy and elegant and yet comfortable. The property outside is like a little oasis. There is a hammock and a small pool with jacuzzi jets. I know some people complained about it being too hot but the water is actually I think just heated by the sun because it was quite nice when I put my feet in one morning. I think because its small the water heats up quickly. The whole garden area is quite lovely and very peaceful. i heard NO noise at all and my room was very quiet and we were there for Fantasy Fest so I don't expect it gets louder than that! It is conveniently located like a block off Duval right in the heart of everything. 2 great cats on the property are such love kitties...Sushi (black) and Jordan. There is a free breakfast at the pool each morning. Just continental...OJ, coffee, pastries, cereal and fruit. The downsides of this inn are the lack of parking. (we managed to get a space along the street and didn't move the car at all as everything is in walking distance pretty much) a Tip there is to arrive early in the day as there are more spaces available and they do help tell you where the best chances are for getting a space. Also the rooms get cleaned that are check outs first so ours wasn't cleaned at all since we came back at 3 and wanted to take a nap. My family was also staying there and their room didn't get cleaned til 5 which was terribly late. We opted to just trade our towels out. Just be aware that is the case. It certainly wouldn't change me wanting to stay there again. I would also say the beds and pillows are very hard. I know some people enjoy that but I personally prefer a softer bed and pillows. I did not get a back ache though and the linens seemed really nice and good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn
Key Lime Inn
#16 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.2 mi away
Chelsea House Pool & Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cypress House Key West
Cypress House Key West
#13 of 45 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Orleans House
New Orleans House
#52 of 92 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#25 of 92 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guesthouse

Address: 811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Merlin Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is a 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of historic Old Town, Key West within a neighborhood and a short walk away from all the restaurants, attractions and nightlife on Duval street. It is also a nice bike ride away from the beaches and water sports of Key West. The hotel has a variety of guest rooms and suites located in a small grouping of cottages and buildings surrounded by lush landscaping and a private courtyard. The pool area provides a quiet and comfortable place to relax and unwind. Free high-speed Wifi in your room. Continental breakfast served poolside. Upscale amenities. Romantic and relaxing, unique and charming; where modern style & comfort meets a relaxed Key West vibe. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at Merlin Guesthouse. Free High-Speed Wifi In Room. Free Continental Breakfast. Upscale Amenities. Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool. Historic Landmark Guesthouse. Conveniently Located In Old Town Key West. Lovely Neighborhood Setting. Onsite and Street Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Merlin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.