We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merlin Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merlin Guesthouse to your Saves list
Merlin Guesthouse
811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 93 Key West B&B and Inns
Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned home from a five night stay. We loved the charm of the Merlin Guesthouse. Our room was spacious and private. Loved all the natural light! The staff was exceptionally friendly and we felt right at home. I'd stay again and would choose the same room! Great place!

Room Tip: Loved the king suite...number 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    126
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
30
233
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My then fiance, now husband, stayed here 4 nights this week for our wedding & honeymoon. It was wonderful! The room was super clean as were the grounds! Staff was very helpful & friendly. Our bed was super comfy. All around wonderful stay!!! I loved the hammock!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we arrived after 9pm with no reservation. the man at the front desk gave us a discounted price.
parking is close... was hard to find because of the one way streets. but u can see the area.

we like the hotel alot and stayed 3 nights. charming small rooms. old rustic floors. cute place.
there is even a cat at the hotel... who will hang aroung and be your friend until more guests arrive

the pool is nice, the staff goes home around 10pm. your not supposed to use the pool... but if you are quiet nobody will notice. after walking in the heat of duval street its very nice to swim.

the sunlight comes in the room in the morning. which is kindof a nice wakeup.

in the morning they were doing some repairs on the roof of our room... but after a dirty look from my girlfriend they stopped. everyone was just really nice and polite. great locals here.
met another couple at the hotel. everyone in the keys is in a great mood and happy to be there!
oh, and alot of people in key west have been drinking... alot.... in the sun..... forever

Room Tip: try to get a room in the back. the rooms on the street look loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in room 19 excellent very clean rooms nice people. Good breakfast. They had a cat named Jordan very friendly. The other guests were very friendly. I would stay here again. I would give them a A+++++++

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

This place is just so perfect ! The breakfast was great, the people here are so so very kind! I will come here again anyday ! Rooms were clean and a safe place to stay ! This is just key west ! We felt the old spirit of the island here. Do stay !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Merlin the first couple days of Fantasy Fest. Even though we were only 1 block away from Duval Street you could not hear any of the activities. The Merlin Guesthouse is a small retreat in the middle of Key West (known as a party island). :)
We had a King Suite right on the edge of the property (next to an alley) and you would never have known it. Quiet and spacious. It was the perfect end to our vacation.
I would definitely stay at the Merlin again. Next time I hope it will be more than 2 days.
Jordan Del Gato is now my friend on facebook. He is awesome. So friendly.
Looking forward to my next trip to Key West & The Merlin Guesthouse.

Room Tip: The King Suites are awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed in unit 22 which is in the back of the property and a King suite. It was just perfect inside. HUGE room with a big bathroom and a hallway sort of area with a sink and refrigerator and microwave. There is a safe in the cabinet as well. Very classy and elegant and yet comfortable. The property outside is like a little oasis. There is a hammock and a small pool with jacuzzi jets. I know some people complained about it being too hot but the water is actually I think just heated by the sun because it was quite nice when I put my feet in one morning. I think because its small the water heats up quickly. The whole garden area is quite lovely and very peaceful. i heard NO noise at all and my room was very quiet and we were there for Fantasy Fest so I don't expect it gets louder than that! It is conveniently located like a block off Duval right in the heart of everything. 2 great cats on the property are such love kitties...Sushi (black) and Jordan. There is a free breakfast at the pool each morning. Just continental...OJ, coffee, pastries, cereal and fruit. The downsides of this inn are the lack of parking. (we managed to get a space along the street and didn't move the car at all as everything is in walking distance pretty much) a Tip there is to arrive early in the day as there are more spaces available and they do help tell you where the best chances are for getting a space. Also the rooms get cleaned that are check outs first so ours wasn't cleaned at all since we came back at 3 and wanted to take a nap. My family was also staying there and their room didn't get cleaned til 5 which was terribly late. We opted to just trade our towels out. Just be aware that is the case. It certainly wouldn't change me wanting to stay there again. I would also say the beds and pillows are very hard. I know some people enjoy that but I personally prefer a softer bed and pillows. I did not get a back ache though and the linens seemed really nice and good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Guesthouse

Address: 811 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merlin Guesthouse is one of five hotels in the Historic Key West Inns collection located in the Old Town section of Key West. This guesthouse offers a range of prices and room amenities. Simple rooms offer an excellent price and queen-size, four-poster beds. King Suites offer extra comfort and romance. Cottage units offer a variety of layouts that are comfortable for families or friends. Just one block from Duval Street, you will be steps away from Key West’s best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and attractions. Margaritaville, Sloppy Joe’s Bar, and Ernest Hemingway’s Home are all within easy reach. The nearest beach is just six blocks away. Take off walking in any direction and you will discover Key West’s hidden treasures. Come and stay with us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Merlin Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlin Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlin Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.