We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and tropical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key Lime Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Key Lime Inn to your Saves list
Key Lime Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Serene and tropical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights at the Key Lime Inn a few days before Christmas. We had requested an early check in after coming in on an overnight flight, and arrived to find our room was ready and staff upgraded us to a larger room. The sectional couch was very comfortable and coffee in the room was good quality. We loved the location - three blocks from Duvall St - everything was an easy walk, but quiet and serene when we returned to our room. The pool was a nice amenity, even if a bit chilly in the shade. Breakfast was adequate - more European than American - but yogurt and hard boiled eggs provided a good start to the day. The front desk staff were extremely welcoming and readily provided directions and discounts to nearby attractions. The bathroom is ready for a renovation (even a fresh coat of paint would help), but was clean and comfortable. We would happily return to the Key Lime Inn.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    330
    98
    38
    14
See reviews for
35
600
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just got back from Key West. Stayed at Key lime Inn on Truman st. Great location,close to Duval St but far away enough, to be quiet. The pool is very nice. My only recommendation, is they should have a hot tub next to the pool. They have the room for this. My wife is always cold, so she found the pool not warm enough. Wanted a hot tub. The pool was heated to at least 75, I would say and was okay for myself and daughter. But some people like it hot.. A hot tub would complete this place. Free paking was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved the Key Lime Inn. The location was amazing... we were able to bike or walk anywhere we wanted to go. We felt like we were in an area that was a little bit off the beaten path but still in the midst of it all at the same time. We found the atmosphere to be so peaceful, quaint, and charming. We were treated extremely well by the entire staff!! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Key West!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Key Lime Inn for 3 nights last week. We liked it's location which made almost all of Key West walkable- beach, Duval Street, Mallory Square. The rooms are spread out through several small buildings. We did think it was going to be one large historic inn which wasn't the case but there is no problem with what was provided. The rooms are spacious and with many options such as separate bungalows or larger buildings. It seems to be an ample complex. As we prefer quiet, we were located on the 2nd floor of (I believe) Malcolm which was just fine. It was quiet and clean.
The Inn has a nice little pool that was also clean, quiet and served us well when we wanted to sit outside for a while in the afternoon between touring.
Breakfast is served by the pool. It is continental style and adequate. We do wish it had healthier fare and more local fruit (apples in the Keys don't seem right.) We also had to get used to people smoking outside and had to move to an end of the pool where there was none.
The staff was very professional and helpful. I had a little incident in which I was apparently bitten by something while snorkeling and had an allergic reaction several hours afterwards. I woke up in the morning to a face that looked like a pufferfish and thought it best to see a doctor (caffeine and Benadryl did not work.) I phoned the front desk and they called a local doctor for me. They orchestrated the connection in a really professional and immediate way. I was grateful for their help and that in fact they had such an important resource already established. The doctor does make calls to the hotel. All went well ( and I can laugh about the puffy face now.)
We would recommend the Inn to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed for three days and had a great time. Very friendly staff (especially Michelle and Scott) who were there when we checked in. Gave great recommendations for places to est and then made a reservation for us. The inn is very close to all the action, but very laid back and quiet. Will go back again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I chose one of the larger rooms based on TripAdvisor reviews and was very happy with that; the rooms were a great deal larger and the high ceiling was nice. It also seemed like the more expensive rooms were better kept. The decor were really pretty; simplistic and quiet. Like every other place we stayed in Florida the bathroom had a faint smell to it, but I guess that's just a fact of life in a tropical climate. I spent two ice cold showers before I could figure out the shower; the handle does not only control the water pressure but also the heat; pull the handle all the way and wait for the water until it gets hot; then pull it back until you reach the desired temperature.

The pool was lovely, the breakfast was very simplistic but reasonable; it was served poolside. There is on-side parking. I think we payed something like $200 a night and found it to be good value for money.

Room Tip: Chose one of the larger rooms! (The cost a little extra but it is worth it.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We loved our stay at the Key Lime Inn. The room was decorated very nicely. We had a sectional with tv on one side of room and nice, comfortable king-size bed on other. There was a refrigerator in the bathroom that came in handy. We were able to walk to Duval Street which was only two blocks away. There was a beautiful Catholic Church right across the street. They served a small continental breakfast by the pool each morning, not lots of choices but fine to get our day started. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Key Lime Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Lime Inn

Address: 725 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Key Lime Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key Lime Inn is a 37 room historic hotel in the center of Key West’s Old Town area, just two blocks from amazing Key West nightlife on the world famous Duval Street. You can walk to restaurants and nightlife and enjoy the quaint houses in Key West’s historic neighborhoods. Rooms are situated in several buildings spread out on an acre of grounds, giving the property a very tranquil, spacious feel. Garden paths and tropical foliage separate buildings and quiet resting spots. A large heated pool is surrounded by palm trees, and has plenty of deck space for comfortable chaise lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Key Lime Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Key Lime Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key Lime Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.